i am a boston marathoner

I’ll always remember my first Boston Marathon.  Not only was it my first, but it saw record-breaking heat.  But hey-I earned my stripes with this one.

3 stripes, as a matter of fact.

As for the race itself, I proudly clocked my slowest marathon evah.

I’ll have a more detailed report later, but in a nutshell, the heat struck me like a ton of bricks.  A hot marathon in October is NOT the same as a hot marathon in April.  Acclimating makes such a difference, it’s insane.  Anyway, if there was ever a day to put ego aside and just embrace the day, this was it.  I wanted to finish in good spirits (unlike NYC) so it meant taking mucho walk breaks, staying on top of hydration, keeping the pace dialed back, and spending a few quality minutes with the Flyers at their cheering station at mile 17.3 for some much needed TLC.

Congrats to all who ran on Marathon Monday-we are all a part of history 🙂

6 thoughts on “i am a boston marathoner

  1. Congrats! I looked for you going by near the finish but I missed you! It was really hard to pick out people from the crowd.

  2. Alway nice to finish in good spirits and I please you changed your plan and decided to have ‘fun’ out on the route, well done.

  3. Awesome! Congrats on the finish.

  4. Love your photo! Congrats on your Boston!!!

  5. Still very cool that you finished! I remember running Greta’s Half in October 2007, the same weekend as that Chicago marathon. It was hardest race I have ever done. So, hats off, and know lots of people would love to be able to toe that line.

Leave a comment