i am a boston marathoner

I’ll always remember my first Boston Marathon.  Not only was it my first, but it saw record-breaking heat.  But hey-I earned my stripes with this one.

3 stripes, as a matter of fact.

As for the race itself, I proudly clocked my slowest marathon evah.

I’ll have a more detailed report later, but in a nutshell, the heat struck me like a ton of bricks.  A hot marathon in October is NOT the same as a hot marathon in April.  Acclimating makes such a difference, it’s insane.  Anyway, if there was ever a day to put ego aside and just embrace the day, this was it.  I wanted to finish in good spirits (unlike NYC) so it meant taking mucho walk breaks, staying on top of hydration, keeping the pace dialed back, and spending a few quality minutes with the Flyers at their cheering station at mile 17.3 for some much needed TLC.

Congrats to all who ran on Marathon Monday-we are all a part of history 🙂