guess my half-marathon time, 2011 edition

It’s back!!  Less than 2 weeks to go til the Rock ‘n’ Roll Philly Half, time for the guessing game to start.

Realistic guesses please!  To help with that, here’s a little data…

Best half ever was from this same race in 2009-1:37:36.  2nd best was 1:42:20 in the 2008 race!

In terms of predictors for now…my Club Champs 5M time predicts 1:40:25. Keeping in mind that was a hilly course and on a hot/humid day and I wasn’t really tapered…with the flat course, and being a little further along in training, I’m hoping I can better that prediction a little bit.

In comparison, 2008’s Club Champs 5M time predicted 1:46:30 and I ran 1:42:20 that year…and in 2009 the Club Champs 5M time predicted 1:42:41 and I actually ran 1:37:36.

Orrrrr…if you want to go by paces per mile-in 2008 I ran 7:38 pace at Club Champs and 7:48 pace in the half.  2009, ran 7:21 pace at Club Champs and 7:27 pace in the half.  2011, I ran 7:12 pace at Club Champs and ??? pace for the half…?

As always, one of the choices I feel is very unrealistic, but I felt I had to put it in anyway.

My goals for this race…would like a PR, definitely want under 1:40 to prove that time 2 years ago was not a fluke (is it me, or am I having to prove that a lot of times aren’t flukes…)  And wouldn’t mind hitting the NYCM/NYC Half qualifying standard of 1:37 or better (provided that does not get changed)

Vote early. But do not vote often-I once again fixed it so certain people won’t try and stuff the ballot box…you all know who you are!

Thanks for playing!

5 thoughts on “guess my half-marathon time, 2011 edition

  1. It would totally mess with my head if I had people guess my races times!! So not sure to play based on that fact…haha. You seem to have a nice trend going of running only slightly slower than Club Champs so keep the trend intact! Plus 3rd times a charm anyways, right? 🙂

    • I’ve been playing the “guess my time” game for several years…mostly its just fun to see how many people guess right. Though i wasn’t too happy that “3:40-3:45” was the popular choice for my Chicago time (albeit correct…)

      • Are people usually right? maybe there is something to be said for knowledge of the masses…even more reason for me not to play the game on my blog! hahahhahaa 🙂

        • well lets take a look at the archives 🙂

          for Chicago, actually more than half (53%) guessed 3:35-3:39…3:40-3:44 was 2nd with 20%. guess I was mistaken there with what was the popular choice.

          MCM…ain’t going there 😉

          Philly half 2009-actually a 3-way tie between 1:35-1:39, 1:40-1:42:19 and 1:42:20-1:44!

          NYCM 2008- the top guess…33% guessed 3:40-3:44 (which was what I ran)

          Philly Half 2008-most popular guesses were 1:40-1:42 (which was what I ran) and 1:45-1:49…both 31%

  2. Haha this is crazy I’d never be brave enough to let people guess my time!

Leave a Reply

