chi-town…one week later

Has it really been a week?  Went by very very fast!!

Yep, it was exactly a week ago when I was partying it up at Fado and continuing my consumption of celebratory Blue Moons.  Now instead i’m just lounging on the couch and watching some postseason baseball.  (There is beer consumption tho-in the form of Blue Point Blueberry Ale…)

So rest assured, I was really in recovery mode this past week 🙂  No running til today-though that was a bit of a slog (4.5 miles around 9:30 pace.)  So I guess it’s gonna take some time to get my legs back…(didn’t remember it feeling this hard before!)  Was originally considering making a return to speed next week, but may even put that off another week…don’t feel ready to tackle hard workouts just yet.

Which I guess sorta addresses the burning question-am I going to attempt another marathon soon to knock off those 2 minutes and 7 seconds and get the under 35 BQ time?  No.  For one thing-given that Boston registration starts tomorrow and I’m willing to bet it’s gonna fill up in less than a week, if I were to run another marathon, it certainly would be too late for 2011…and I have my time for 2012.  I’ll be honest, I did write the B.A.A. and ask them…

…to just confirm that my time in Chi-town will indeed be good for 2012 😛  (as I’ve heard tons of rumors about the standards getting changed for 2012.)  And yes, it was confirmed.  That email is definitely getting saved 😉

On the topic of Boston, this article from the WSJ that recently came out…not too happy with.  It feels like a little bit of a slap in the face to me.  After I FINALLY qualified (and let me tell you-it is not as easy to qualify as some people like to say it is), now I’m still having to defend myself, that I do indeed belong there (or will belong there in 2012.)  Now is the problem really the percentage of qualifiers going up, or the raw number going up?  Meaning, there are much more people running now than there were years ago in general, so even if the qualifying percentage stayed the same, would still equal more qualifiers.  Why none of these articles address that, I wonder…

Changing the topic.  Next year?  Well, I just need to get in one more race (most likely the Kleinerman 10k) and I’ll have my guaranteed entry for NYCM 2011, but I’m still not 100% sure if I want to run it in 2011.  Tenatively, the plan is to focus on shorter distances next year so that when it comes time to train for Boston 2012, I won’t feel burned out.  I’d like to see if I can get a sub-1:37 half, and hopefully better my 10K time, as I feel that distance I really feel that I come up short in, moreso than the 5K.  Nothing set in stone just yet though.

And as for this one?  Did I do the best I could?  I really think I did.  I do wonder what could have been if the conditions were more favorable, but nothing I can do about it now, just glad that a “bad day” was still a 3:43.  Say what you want to say, but I felt the inferno that was this summer was making it tough for me to get in harder efforts than just an easy run, especially in the long runs.  I think the fact I didn’t cut any of my long runs short was a victory in itself.  Only thing I would have liked to have changed was that I didn’t cross-train as much as I wanted to in the last coupla months-which was indirectly tied to me moving (which I didn’t know was gonna happen before I started training.)  When I needed to put aside nights to pack and/or deal with other apartment stuff, something had to give, and it obviously couldn’t have been running…

One more comment about last Sunday and I will get off my soapbox.  It seems that I have been seeing comments about the weather during the race, and how it “wasn’t that bad” or was “perfect” and that “we should just all stop complaining.”  And it seems that a majority of those comments come from people who ran 3 hours or faster.  So of course, wouldn’t have been still on the course during the hotter parts of the day (let alone the later miles which were unshaded.)  My marathon is almost an hour slower and when the temps were rising rapidly, that hour makes a difference.  (and those who were out there for 5 hours, 6 hours or more would have had it even worse!)  And yes, I trained in the heat of the summer, but did I race 26.2 miles in the summer heat?  No.  Apples and oranges, if you ask me.  Considering the event alert went up to red by the time I finished, and I heard that it even went up to black at one point…I don’t consider those perfect conditions, would you?  If you’re not affected by the heat when you race…consider yourself very, very lucky.  But please don’t judge the rest of us who do get physically affected by it.

That said-hope all you NYCMers have a perfect day…I’ll be more than happy to wear a jacket and pants while spectating (will be handing out PowerGels at mile 18 again! 🙂 ) so you can have a good race 🙂

10 thoughts on “chi-town…one week later

  1. exactly! training down here in houston was indeed brutal, where we were forced to do our long runs starting at 4am and even then the feels like temps were close to 90…however training in it and then actually having to do a marathon in it? um. no.

    my coach told me to treat chicago as a loooooong training run, but that would mean stopping for minutes at a time to cool off, to chat with friends and what not. training in the heat does not equate to an actual race of that distance in the same conditions.

    i havent seen any of those comments and i am quite glad. thanks for taking up for us normal mid packers who suffered out there! anyone who thinks that 69-70 to start a marathon is just looney to me. and thats being nice about it!

    and yes, save that email. although i will say that those rumors of the qualifying standards for Boston come out at least once a year.

    • no problem. no matter where you are in the pack-conditions affect different people in different ways. I do know a couple of people who tried for 3:10 or better who suffered. And there are those who cold conditions actually work against them. Either way-people should not judge.

  2. Hey! Why the doubts and anxiety? You did an AWESOME job out there and have every right to be proud of your accomplishment. I think the naysayers who say that the temps weren’t a factor are clearly kidding themselves. There’s every evidence that 60s-70s are not conducive to racing your best which is what you were clearly trying to do so no matter what “not that bad” equates to, your performance was affected. And the longer you were out there, the longer you are affected. Having said that, I don’t think you should allow ANYONE to determine the value of YOUR goals. You’re not racing for them so who cares what “they” think. You worked HARD…you got YOUR PR…and will be in Boston in 2012! Those facts are undisputable and should be CELEBRATED, not DEVALUED!

    Okay, I’m off my soapbox now. As for coming back to speed, take your time! Rest and recovery is more important right now. Also, my opinion on running NYCM or any other marathons next year is maybe just do one late in the fall for FUN! It’s just a thought. It’s very different running one without the pressure of a time goal. Maybe you can allow yourself to rediscover the fun/joy of running again and just enjoy the process.

    Just some thoughts to ponder. As one of those who did do less than three hours at Chicago…I think you did GREAT 🙂

    • Ha-some people who ran on 10-10-10 are already back in training mode and are way ahead of me in terms of mileage…hence why I feel like I am an unusually slow recover-er. Like I feel bad I can’t help out at the last 10 miler this weekend, but I don’t know if I’d feel comfortable attempting 10 miles yet.

  3. 1st of all, a BQ is an incredible thing. Don’t forget that for one second. Many, many, many try, few make it. This will sound like a bit of a running snob (but I don’t mean that way) but once you have a BQ you think of yourself differently, as a Marathoner. You have joined an elite club that many aspire to but few achieve. I said for years, before I got mine, that Qualifying was the ultimate goal. Running in The Marathon, that was just a reward.

    As far as conditions go, forget the noise, it was a very tough day. Period. No one would argue; 30° cooler would have made a huge difference, to everyone – 3 hour runners – 5 hour runners.

    And finally, the WSJ stated that the “median gender difference is 28 minutes” and is an “inexact science”. 28 minutes sounds pretty darn close to the current standard. The standards works, it is an elite field from front to back. The fact that it fills quickly, well that is because it is THE MARATHON.

    Congratulations, enjoy it!

  4. aaaaaaaaaaaaaand boston sold out in 8 hours yesterday…wow.

  5. Congrats on your pr and 2012 Boston Quallifier,given how quickly the 2011 race filled up it’s good to know you have a BQ in your back pocket.
    I said at the start of the year 2010 would be the year of redemption for both of us,for once I was right!!!

Leave a Reply

