trainwrecks and tempos

Is it me, or lately has NYRR’s Facebook page been more of a trainwreck than ever?  It seems like every single post on the wall deteriorates into some type of pissing ground (check out the one with about 50 replies-that one is awesome.)  I mean, to get to the point where they have to initate “posting guidelines”…how old are we again?   I will admit, sometimes I do have the urge to comment…but instead I choose to bite my tongue and talk about it here on my blog.  Much better! 🙂

So that was the trainwreck part of the post, now for the tempo.  3 x the Harlem Hills loop.  In the heat and humidity.  I bet it hurts just reading about it.  But we got it done.  Was all in the pacing.

Loop Time Distance Pace Avg HR Max HR
1 11:11 1.4165 7:54 150 170
2 11:05 1.4165 7:49 155 173
3 10:57 1.4165 7:44 158 178

Overall, this was a little slower than the “suggested” time for me for the loop which was about 10:50…but then again, those weren’t triple-H (heat, humidty, hills) adjusted.  But the point of the workout was to negative split, finish strong, so was all good.

Thanks to everyone who commented on my race report.  I’ve given myself a coupla days to cool off.  For the record-this was not a crowded race (516 finishers according to NYRR) and the weather…70 degrees and 53% humidity isn’t exactly chilly, but it’s much better than what we’ve had here as of late (and I believe comparable to last year’s conditions for this race.)  I think what happened may have been one or both of 2 things: last year I didn’t do speed the week before the race whereas I had that long workout last Tuesday and that I’m at least 5 pounds heavier than I was this time last year (I don’t know why, but I’m really struggling with it more this year.)  5 x 2 seconds per mile…theres the 10 seconds per mile difference from last year.  And honestly, I think I was spoiled the last 2 years with the racing going well and it feeling too easy…figured I’m due for a year where I have my work cut out for me 🙂

Coupla more race pics…damn why am I heel-striking in both of them? :-\

me and Bridges Runner right after the start

nearing the finish

6 thoughts on “trainwrecks and tempos

  1. Hey, I’ve been reading your blog for a few weeks (linked over by Run Westchester), and really like it. I’m also a new NYRR runner and one of the people who posted in the trainwreck thread on the FB page.

    I wasn’t going to fight the issue, but just wanted a clarification why the deadline was January 31 and not January 1. Not that I’ll be ready for 2011 anyway. I just started running in March.

    2012 it is for me.

    • Thanks for stopping by and for the compliments on the blog. I hope I didn’t come off sounding too harsh regarding the NYRR facebook page-I just felt like that particular thread was getting to the point where the back and forth wasn’t being productive and it should probably have been taken “off the record” by a certain point…to each his/her own I guess.

      Best of luck to you with your running! For what it’s worth-it took me 3 years after I started running til I ran my first marathon-no need to rush, shorter races are a lot of fun too…as I discovered over the years 🙂

  2. Now you have me wondering just what NYRR Facebook thread I missed. I admit that I can’t hold my tongue (or, I guess, keyboard).

    As to heel-striking, I’ve given up on worrying about it, and my photos have me doing it more than you do. I tried to move my foot-strike up a little bit, and my knee went nuts. So I’m leaving well-enough alone.

  3. Had never seen the NYRR page before – thanks for pointing me there! Selfishly, I liked the January 31st discussion because I forgot to renew my membership this year so even if I run my 9+1 I can’t do 2011… was hoping I’d see the conversation changed the rule 🙂

Leave a Reply

