make my move

Well as I hinted about in my previous post…there just may be good news on the apartment front…but didn’t want to say anything til it was official.

Well as of this morning, it’s official.  At the end of this month, I will no longer be an Upper West Sider…but a Midtowner!!  (west, of course…you all know the west side is the best side!)  Yeah even though I did like the UWS and the proximity to the park, I saw a place in the West 40s that I really liked and didn’t want to waste any time in putting in an app…didn’t want to lose this one like I lost the place on west 91st!

I’ll admit, I am a little sad to be leaving the UWS…but I’m really getting excited about my new ‘hood.  Bars and restaurants galore (ohh boy once I’m done with Chicago and not on the wagon…) and really I’m not *that* far from CP.  Less than a mile to Columbus Circle, and hey not a bad way to pad mileage, right?  Plus I’m still near the West Side Hwy.  And near almost every single subway (well the west side ones at least)-including EXPRESS trains!!  And within walking distance of Bryant Park.  And…oh I’m sure I can go on and on but I’ll stop here.  And I gotta love this-the landlords are a family-owned company from the town next to where I grow up, and one of them is friends with one of my brother’s friends…small world, right?  But besides that, they just seem genuinely nice and helpful-huge difference from my current and previous place.

So now that I got that out of the way, the real tough and tedious part begins…packing and moving.  (I have a feeling I will be doing a LOT of cleaning house…I’m sure I accumulated so much stuff over 7 years that I probably don’t even need anymore.)  But I’me sorta arranging my moving date so that it doesn’t interfere with training, especially my long runs…ya know, because I can 🙂  And since I know I will be situated before Labor Day weekend, I went ahead and registered for the New Haven 20K!  (and I will be so close to Grand Central-score!)

So hopefully having this little piece of stress taken care of will help me have a good race tomorrow?  Hope so…and I’m sure I’ll see a lot of you there! 🙂

5 thoughts on “make my move

  1. Congrats on the apartment find, nyflygirl! I’m sure it’s a huge load off your back. You might possibly run even faster now that this huge weight has been lifted. We’ll see tomorrow 🙂

  2. Welcome to the neighborhood!!!

  3. Sorry so late, but congrats! Looking for an apartment in NYC can be so stressful.

Leave a Reply

