mo’ tempo, no problems

I don’t know what, they want from me
It’s like the more money we come across
The more problems we see

I don’t know what, they want from me
It’s like the more money we come across
The more problems we see

OK, I had this song in my head after speedwork on Tuesday and not only did it fit into a post title, but gawd it brought back memories.  “Mo Money Mo Problems“…I mean that song RULED my world during my senior year of college.  It was absolutely everywhere…playing on the radio, playing on the tape deck in my car (wow thats old school…tape deck!), blasting on the stereo at our apartment, playing at social events, at the bars, on the dance floor…I think if there was a song that defined my senior year of college, that was it.  (ahhh, those were the days…being an innocent college senior and my life still making some sort of sense…)

Anyway, getting back to the present now.  Tuesday was of course speedwork day, though there was also the option to go back to Icahn Stadium and run the 1500m at the next installment of the Tuesday Night Speed Series.  I think it was a given that I was gonna pass on that one…I mean, did I really want to get pwned by the track again, especially when I had a 10k in 4 days that I wanted to rock?  Didn’t think so 🙂  So I opted for the tempo workout in Central Park…which for me, was 4 continuous loops of the North Meadow softball fields.  And for the most part, it felt pretty good.  Laps 1 and 2 felt easy.  Was struggling a little on lap 3…wasn’t really my legs being tired, but I felt a little under-fueled.  Lap 4-just git ‘er done and finish strong.  Splitsville:

Ahhh gotta love negative splits!! Another nicely executed workout…and the heart rate didn’t climb out of the “tempo zone”, not even for the last loop!!  On the way home from the workout, I ran into some of the Flyers who were finishing up their workout and chatted for a little bit…I swear, *everyone* was in the park that nite!  Or something.  Headed home and treated myself to another ice-cold beer…this one a different fruit flavor!!

I remember having tried this one last year while out with some Flyers at Amsterdam Ale House…and was glad to see it in a store.  6 weeks worth of post-speedwork treat 🙂

So yeah, the Mini 10K on Saturday.  (Or as Lam calls it, the “Preggo Paula & Kara Trot” 😛 )  The weather looks to be high 60s/low 70s at 9 am with some humidity…which actually, sounds pretty similar to last year’s weather, so I can take it on 🙂  As for goals?  Well I’ll say one thing, it’s very encouraging that my tempo runs average faster than what my Mini 10K pace was last year (which was 7:39.)  So an improvement on last year I think is at least doable.  Otherwise…well if my time begins with a 46, I wouldn’t cry or anything 🙂  It will all be answered by this time on Saturday.

Gonna get my bib and stuff later today…hoping for another blue bib like last year!!  And hoping that Kara and Paula line up behind the elite section like Deena did last year!!  And hope to see all you guys out cheering…yeah, I know it’s really to gawk at Kara and Paula, but I can pretend it’s all for me 😛  Good luck to all the ladies running Saturday!

15 thoughts on “mo’ tempo, no problems

  1. Wow – really great workout – you crushed that progression and finished in style great job. Just wanted to wish you a good race this weekend. Can’t wait to hear all about it.

    Best from Austin, J

    • Thanks!! It’s funny, I used to hate tempo runs, now I really like them. Thanks for the good luck wishes. One thing’s for sure about this particular race…even if I don’t have a good race (which has happened a few years-heat and humidity be damned), it’s still a fun time…love the elites being there and the ladies-only comeraderie (and the guys cheering too! 🙂 )

  2. Great workout and great job on those negative splits! I’m sure your race will go great!

  3. excited about the ten kay too! yay for summer beers 😉

  4. Nice workout! Sounds like you’re gonna rock it on Saturday.

    My jaw dropped a bit when I picked up my bib today and saw blue. How fun! Probably the first and only time I’ll ever be at the front of one of these races. 🙂

  5. Nicely done! Pacing on progression workouts is a toughie, I’ve found – I always, ALWAYS go out too fast for fear of slowing down later (weird, I know). I’m super excited for the race! Not really the racing part, but the schwag and all the estrogen. Going to get my stuff tomorrow.

    • I always used to make that same mistake…I guess with time, you start to trust yourself a bit more. At least thats been my experience. I’m super excited for tomorrow too-see you there!

  6. Good luck on the preggo trot! I’ll be posing as a paparazzi somewhere on the East Side so stay close by to Kara & Paula during the race and I’ll try to get you all in a group shot! =P

  7. Nice work on the repeats
    Good Luck tomorrow
    You missed a good nite at Icahn Tuesday…..much better conditions than last time!

Leave a Reply

