holiday, celebrate…

If we took a holiday (oh yeah, oh yeah)
Took some time to celebrate (c’mon, let’s celebrate)
Just one day out of life (just one day!)
It would be, it would be so nice!

And the long Memorial Day weekend, the unofficial start of summer has come and gone.  (Well thanks to the wonder of carryover vacation days, I’ve extended mine another day…)  Though it wasn’t as jam-packed and memorable as last year’s, it was still quite lovely all the same.  Spent a lot of time outdoors…be it either running, lounging out in Central Park with friends, or just wandering the west side path…

As part of my long run Saturday (11 miles), I checked out the newly opened portion of the west side path that goes from around west 84th to 93rd.  Good to not have to detour through Riverside Park anymore, but warning-it is very narrow during that portion, best to go single file!!

Sunday consisted of a lonnggggg picnic in the park….good food, friends and drink (sangria in picnic-sized boxes rule!)  Then yesterday consisted of a run, brunch and some girl talk with TB who was back from Europe (but is gonna come home for good in a coupla months-much earlier than expected!!  yeah!) and lounging out on the west side path…and eventually taking advantage of one of the best Monday evening dinner deals-$10 fajitas at Cilantro!!  (plus happy-hour special margaritas!)

And though I raced on Memorial Day last year, I’m so glad I skipped it this year.  Besides other reasons, I heard reports that it was a rough day.  And besides, I’d rather look forward to and concentrate on having a good race at the Mini 10K.  I do have a time goal in mind…not sure if I want to say what it is just yet…

And on the topic of races, I could help but notice some of the recent dissention on NYRR’s Facebook page-specifically about the Brooklyn half and what it *didn’t* offer.  That NYRR should be ashamed of themselves for not giving out finisher’s medals, and that “seasoned runners don’t care about the medals but newbies do, and not getting a medal cheapens our effort” or something like that.  Hmmm, I seem to remember I didn’t receive a medal for my first half-marathon.  The Manhattan Half in 2004, anyone remember that one?  Late August, 2 loops of Central Park, hot as hell, not anyone’s first choice for a debut half-marathon (yeah I don’t know what I was thinking.)  But I finished, and just seeing my name in the results as a half-marathon finisher was good enough for me.  I agree with this comment someone else made: “You really think you wasted your time? You ran 13.1 miles. Do you really believe that your accomplishment is tarnished because you didn’t receive a medal?”  Hell, I’ve run almost 20 half-marathons and I can probably count on one hand the number of times I received a finishers medal for the race.  Guess it is what you make of it.  Stepping down off my soapbox now…

7 thoughts on “holiday, celebrate…

  1. I don’t know if getting race schwag is becoming a bigger thing, but my friend – who just put on a half marathon – got chewed out by some participants who didn’t get T-shirts. This was despite numerous postings that T-shirts would only be available to the first 1,000 registrants, blah blah blah. If you’re 7 years old and doing a fun run, yeah, you should get a medal. If you’re 37, you need to shut up and set a good example for your 7-year-old.

    Whoops! Guess I’ve got a soapbox too.

  2. Hey, cool – another NYC runner-blogger who likes to get her drink on. 🙂 Thanks for the comment on my blog, glad I found ya!

    I really can’t believe people are complaining about the lack of medals at BK. I was just talking to some runner friends about what an incredible value that race was, relatively speaking: a long race, well-staffed with adequate support, and a tech tee, for $25? And people want medals too? Run a more expensive race if you want a medal, people!

    • Agreed-after some stories I heard about last year’s race (water stations running short, mass chaos lapping runners in prospect park), I felt they really listened to runners’ suggestions and improved this year’s race and all in all, did a great job. Where else can you finish a half-marathon by the beach for $25? 🙂

  3. Hey! Glad we got a chance to bump heads and chat this weekend. It did make me feel a teensy bit better, I have to admit, so thanks.

    And now for the more important topic of discussion…Really? Seriously? People are complaining about no medals for Brooklyn? There’s never been medals for any NYRR Halfs (except for NYC Half), so why should this race be different? Also, I suspect that the people who complain aren’t marathoners because 26.2 is where the real medals are earned and given. Just sayin’

    • No problem!! Glad to help 🙂 And yeah, if you look at NYRR’s facebook page…it’s become quite the pissing ground of complaints. FWIW-the More half-marathon gives out finishers medals, but considering that one has a hefty price tag…

      And we can agree to disagree…but I disagree with “26.2 is where the real medals are earned and given.” You know I feel that all distances deserve respect and acknowledgement, even if it isn’t tangible. 🙂 It seems that the complainers are those who have finished their first half or one of their first halfs and want something for their effort. But as I said in my main post-when I finished my first half, I didn’t get a medal…i was satisfied with having my name in the results as a finisher…and I also remember throwing my hands up, victory-style as I crossed the finish line…thinking “OMG, I’m FINISHING this thing! 🙂 ” As I said before, it’s all what you make of it I guess…

  4. Pingback: Central Park, sans running shoes « eat, drink, run

Leave a Reply

