dear weather gods…

…please cut the crap this week.  xoxo, nyflygirl

Yes, I am not happy that both days that I am supposed to race, or put forth a good effort this week, the weather looks to completely suck.

First, rain is predicted for Tuesday.  Which for an outdoor track meet, ain’t good…it’s not like you can just show up, run and go home.  There’s all the waiting around through all the different events, and all the heats…and me being the slowpoke that I am will definitely be in one of the last heats.  Honestly, my heart isn’t in this one, but apparently the time trial is needed to base what my workout times/paces should be for the next coupla months…

But even worse is the forecast for Saturday and for the Brooklyn Half.  Overnight low of 64 on Fri, high of 80 on Saturday with scattered thunderstorms.  Which means most likely during the race, it will be in the 70s and humid.  I know the race start is 7 am, but will that help enough?  I don’t know, my body cannot handle this type of heat and humidity.  I’ve tried these past few weeks to acclimate, but not sure if I did enough.  And if any of you are thinking this is just mental, I can assure you it’s not-my infamous choke job at the 2008 Mini 10K is proof of that.  No matter how hard I tried, my body decided at mile 4 that it couldn’t run hard anymore-and it was only 71 degrees during the race!!

So now I don’t know what to do.  Is there anything more I can do between now and Saturday to acclimate?  Or should I just scrap this one and pick another goal race?  Unfortunately “just finishing” is not good enough for me…I really want a race to show me where I’m at with Chicago training starting very soon, and to show me that I’m not kidding myself thinking I can run a 3:40 marathon.

And I’m kicking myself right now, that Saturday’s Healthy Kidney 10K was perfect weather and that I wasted a good race opportunity.  I thought I did the right thing-looking at the times, I wouldn’t have scored for the team and it was probably better that I was out cheering instead (plus it was cool to run by the start/finish and hear the announcement that the leaders were on course record pace-which did end up falling that day too, by I think 7 seconds?)  But now I look back and wonder what could have been..

13 thoughts on “dear weather gods…

  1. Spoke to the weather gods this am,can’t say w/ any great confidence the weather will hold off tomorrow,or Saturday,but I did ask for you and for me.
    See you tomorrow at Ichan

  2. I saw you at the Healthy Kidney close to the end! I thought either (i) she didn’t run or (ii) wow! what a time. It was a great day to run, and given how my day went I wish I could have seen the record being set rather than run the race.

    I am going to skip Brooklyn, but that is less weather related than training related. And if you have any sway with the weather gods, ask them to repeat last weekend — it was perfect!

  3. Re Icahn, I was there when there was a torrential downpour. There’s plenty of room in the stands, and people just hang out there. Even if you end up cutting your warm-up short, it’s not the end of the world. And the track drains really really fast.

    As for Brooklyn, my advice for all HMs is to go out well under control and gradually get into the race and see what happens, going with the flow.

    Good luck both days.

    • ah, good to know that there will be a non-rainy refuge 🙂

      thx for the pacing advice for brooklyn. that’s actually my best distance in terms of pacing, and the terrain will just lead to a slower start (first 7 miles in Prospect Park) so I have reason to hold back in the beginning. just need the weather to cooperate!

Leave a Reply

