and while we wait…

…for me to be an actual runner again and actually have running news to tell, i figured i’d fill out this survey-type thing I saw on Mark’s blog

Miles last week:
8 and change (combination of holiday parties and still being in recovery mode)

Your first Race:
Unofficially-Corporate Challenge in 2003 (I didn’t have a recorded time).
Officially-Niketown Run for the Parks 4-miler, April 2004.

Your last Race:
Marine Corps Marathon, 10/25/09.  Though I didn’t finish it ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

When/Why did you start running:
Hmmm…long story!

In the spring/summer of 1998…any running I did was strictly for vanity. I remember my last semester of college (spring 1998)…I had just broken up with my boyfriend, and being newly single and I guess sorta “on the prowl”…I had a lot of body image issues (like, how can I compete with those skinny, perfect sorority girls?) So I forced myself to run at least 2-3 times a week for about an hour on our school’s inside “track” (which wasn’t really a track…just something for people to run laps on since upstate NY winters are too damn cold!) Honestly, looking back on it…considering I was not eating very much either, I don’t know how I ever had the energy to do that. The summer and beyond, just used the treadmill at the gym.

Then in 2003, i did the Corporate Challenge with my company and decided I actually liked running outside. did some more of it in the summer. That year, I also moved to the Upper West Side-apartment within stumbling distance of Central Park…saw the marathon hoopla in and around the park and decided I was gonna run it someday.  In January 2004, I joined the NYRR in an attempt to get my 9 races in for guaranteed entry for ’05.  (Yeah I know, the irony…me and my support of short races now!)  The rest is history…

Favorite Race:
The NYRR Club Championships 5-miler.  Though more often than not it’s in hot weather, and it’s in Central Park…how can I not love lotsa guys cheering for me? ๐Ÿ™‚

Favorite Distance:
Half-marathon.  When I’m actually in decent shape, that is the one distance I can run consistently well.  And doesn’t require as much recovery time as a marathon does!

Mistake you always make while racing:
In 5K’s-blasting the first mile and then desparately trying to hang on for the remaining 2.1!

Your mantra is:
“Eye on the prize”

Favorite food before a race or long run:
Night before-pasta w/ tomato sauce and grilled chicken. Morning of, bagel with white chocolate peanut butter and coffee…mmm coffee.  If there’s a Starbucks nearby, must be a Pike Place roast with a shot of vanilla syrup ๐Ÿ™‚

Favorite Gadget:
Mr. Garmin.  Duh ๐Ÿ™‚

Something *strange* you always need on a run?
My “Kara Goucher” necklace…aka Phiten titanium necklace.  Yeah I wear mine all the time now and not just when racing.  It’s a thing.

Amount of races youโ€™ve done in your life?
83 NYRR races (though not all were “race” effort)…and I’m sure more than a handful of non-NYRR races!!

Amount of races youโ€™ve done this year?
Five NYRR races, 8 non-NYRR races.  So no guaranteed entry for 2010 NYCM for me!  Whoda thunk it’d be easier for me to get the “+1” (volunteer credit) than it was to get the 9 races in?

When I canโ€™t run, I:
Am very cranky ๐Ÿ˜›

Music or no Music?
Gotta have my music!!  Well if I’m running alone that is.  If I’m running with others I’ll leave the iPod at home.  Oh and if it’s raining hard too.  Don’t need to ruin another iPod.

Favorite book?
A Race Like No Other…gotta love one about the hometown race…especially when peeps I know are mentioned in there!

Favorite Movie?
Run For Your Life-definitely makes you more appreciative of the efforts many have put in, past, present and future to give us the privilege to run the 5 boroughs.

Favorite Runner?
Kara and Meb.  I like Kara’s attitude towards racing…though she’s good at racing the marathon, she’s not all about that and has fun with the shorter distances.  Meb’s comeback from injury this year hopefully will inspire me!  Plus I got his autograph at the 2008 NYCM expo-very nice guy!!

Favorite brand of apparel?
Sugoi, Nike…oh and can’t forget SkirtSports and Running Skirts ๐Ÿ™‚

Favorite brand of shoes? โ€จ
Asics (DS-Trainer 13s for speed/racing) and Brooks (Defyance 2 for training) for now

How many pairs of running shoes do you have?
Currently in the rotation?  2

How many pairs do you actually use?โ€จ
Right now 1…I think my other pair of trainers have had it, and I haven’t been doing any speedy stuff so no need to use the fast shoes…

Next Challenge ahead:
Get recovered from this injury.  Maybe shoot for a NYCM-qualifying time (sub-1:37) for a half-marathon in the late spring?

A Goal further ahead youโ€™d like to get to someday:
BQ or bust!!  Can’t rest til I get it…

PR youโ€™re most proud of:
This year’s Philly Distance Run…wasn’t just that my final time exceeded my expectations, but I felt the race execution couldn’t have been better.  Unfortunately, until I can come close to that time again, I feel it’s just a fluke…like my 1:43 in the 2005 Vegas Half that I didn’t come close to for 3 1/2 years!

Fuel on long run or race is:
PowerGel-either Plain Energy or Tangerine

Last/current injury:
The (sh)IT Band.  You all know about it, I don’t need to say any more…

Why do you run?
I guess I still run for vanity in a way…but honestly, moreso for the social aspect. I have met so many people through this sport…it’s really made a big city a smaller world for me. And oh yeah…I guess it satisfies that tiniest bit of a competitive edge I have ๐Ÿ™‚

And I’ll be nice and not tag anyone…if you want to fill it out on your bloggy, go right ahead! ๐Ÿ™‚

2 thoughts on “and while we wait…

  1. Nice Q&A, my friend! I think it's a good learning exercise to fill one of these at the end of every running year to review where you've been, assess where you're at and decide where you want to go. Happy holidays and recovery to you!

  2. Awesome flygirl… awesome! :0 )

Leave a Reply

