second opinions suck

So where did I leave off…oh yeah…streak of drinking 9 nights in a row…not proud of.  Said streak stopped at 9 as I decided to give myself the night off on Tuesday, but was started back up again Wednesday between my company’s “Oktoberfest” celebration and heading out to a UWS bar literally within stumbling distance-not that I needed to stumble-to watch Game 6 of the World Series with Flyers YP and AH.  However, I was actually home sweet home when the actual winning moment happened-though on the phone with a certain special Yankee fan to sorta “celebrate” together πŸ˜‰  And anyway, this latest drinking streak only lasted a day.  And no, I didn’t go to the parade downtown…way too much stuff to do here (i know, i know, why am I blogging then?) plus I had a feeling it would just be chaotic.  Case in point-when taking the 3 train to work this AM, a bunch of chicks dressed in Yankee gear were “pre-gaming” on the subway, drinking beer out of those clear plastic cups that you get iced coffee in…come on, how stupid can you be?  If you’re gonna drink from plastic cups, make sure they are not see through!!  I’ve had wine in Central Park enough times to know the drill πŸ˜‰

So in effort to keep things sorta on topic, maybe I should explain the title.  I went to a different doctor yesterday to get a second opinion as to what was going on.  And in less than 5 minutes, was diagnosed as “classic (sh)IT band syndrome.”  Though it was good to hear the truth, I really didn’t feel like I was leaving with a real plan of action.  Yeah, I know its an overuse injury, yeah I know “our bodies are not meant to run 26 miles.”  Tell me something I don’t know.  I know it sounds crazy, but I had X-rays done and nothing was broken…I almost wish that was what it was-at least you know bones do heal in due time.  This thing…not so much!!  (Same deal when I had plantar fasciitis a few years back).  So I was sent home with a prescription for prescription-strength Motrin and advice to keep with the PT.

And I had been…doing the exercises daily, and even being able to add more weight/resistance to some of them.  Icing, rolling the shit out of the (sh)IT band, etc.  But the problem was I really didn’t know where I was at…I didn’t know how I was progressing in terms of recovery.  Well the fact that a spinning class the other nite caused the knee to act up again told me not too well 😦  So I can’t do that-which I was really, really depending on to help keep my sanity in terms of this downtime-pretty much just relegated to elliptical, yoga and weights.  Which I guess is OK and well, but what I’m more concerned with is that really does not have the same calorie-burning effect that a 40-mile week of running does and I’m really worried about putting on weight during this downtime.  I’m sorry, I don’t like myself when I’m too fat…I just don’t!!  (especially when I have a dress for the Flyers awards gala I need to still be able to fit into in less than 3 months)  Plus with the holidays coming up and feeling like I have to avoid everything…not thrilled about that.

But enough of that-I guess now that I’m finally over what happened on October 25th-I feel like I have no direction in terms of getting better.  Doctor #1 says its more a hip flexor problem than an ITB problem.  Doctor #2 says its strictly the ITB.  The PT says I need to be targeting both in terms of recovery.  I don’t know *what* to believe!  How do I kick this thing?   Is there anything more that I can be doing that I’m not doing?

3 thoughts on “second opinions suck

  1. Try Bikram Yoga – 2x a week. I've been ITBS free ever since.p.s. Sorry to hear about MCM. Boston will happen and you will run again soon but for now, Take all the time you need to physically and emotionally heal. Running will patiently wait for you πŸ™‚ Best wishes!

  2. Good for you getting a second opinion on the {sh}it band problem even if it seems to have prompted more questions than answers!!You could also ask fellow runners how they've dealt w/ an injury of that nature,chances are someone else has had it and found a way to treat it.Keep fightin' the good fight.Congrats on your beloved yankees winning another world series.

  3. I stumbled upon your blog last year when I was training for my first marathon (NYCM). About 4 weeks before the marathon, I felt pain in my knee while running and I could not continue. It turned out I had IT Band issues as well. I was devastated and had to defer my entry. But I went to a great physical therapist in Hoboken and he had me do a lot of the same things I am sure you are doing – icing, stretching, hip exercises, etc. After a few weeks (maybe 3 weeks) he started me running on the treadmill and just seriously only running 5 minutes the first few times and then adding 5 minutes each time I was able to complete it without pain. Within about a month I was up to 30 minutes on the treadmill. A few things that really helped me were: a patt strap worn above my knee. (http://pattstrap.com/pattstrap-counter-force-knee-strap-p-28.html?osCsid=d220c38db206df3821efcbbcdf937048) , only running every other day for the first few months back (I swam other days and I think that helped), and sticking to running on the treadmill for a while (as much as I hate the treadmill!)I, too, wondered what I did wrong and if I would ever be able to run distance again. It felt like such a slow road getting better but last week I ran the NYCM and it was probably even more rewarding since it was such a long road getting there! IT band issues are the worst but they do eventually heal. Good luck getting back even stronger than before and running Boston in the near future (I missed qualifying by 25 seconds so maybe I'll get there with you next time!)

Leave a Reply

