the point of no return

Well, now is really it. No turning back. I am writing this blog post while on the train en route to DC…and now its seriously starting to feel real.

4 months. 18 weeks. 700+ miles. And the burning question will be answered by this time on Sunday-will it all pay off?

And I’ll admit to feeling much more nervous this time around. Unlike my first 2 marathons, I got a much loftier time goal in mind, seems that the bar has been raised much higher.

What’s done is done. All I can do now is enjoy the weekend, trust my training, and use my tune-up races for inspiration-that once the starting horn sounds, the legs will know exactly what to do.

So to all my friends, followers, readers, etc…thanks for “joining” me on this wild ride and thanks very much for your support! Maybe there will be a mobile update from the expo tomorrow or before the start on Sunday but if not…that’s all she wrote til I cross that finish line at the Iwo Jima memorial! (Wow, it feels strange not writing Tavern on the Green!)

5 thoughts on “the point of no return

  1. MCM is one of my favorite marathons. Enjoy it and best of luck.

  2. Flygirl,the trick to the marathon is realizing the hard work has been done over x amount of weeks of training etc,enjoy the moment{as best one can when "the moment" is 26.2 miles long!!!}you can do this,as the great Junbo Elliot always said"just do the work and the success will come"well you've done the work,here's to the success.Go Get'em Tiger!!Best of Luck!

  3. Flygirl, here's to a PR for you and to seeing you in Boston next April! You have really transformed your running this year and all there is to do now is to rest up and go out and run your race! I envision you running a confident and relaxed race, totally in your zone, enjoying the runner's high from miles 6-20, and crossing the finish line under 3:40. Sarah in Berkeley

  4. Hi there…I've been reading your blog for some time now – I love it! I just wanted to say that your posts motivate me to improve. I am so impressed by your hard work and dedication to your training. Good luck this Sunday – enjoy it! I can't wait to read the recap.

Leave a Reply

