"somebody’s got a case of the mondays"

Ahhh Office Space. One of those movies that just speaks to us peeps in cubicle life. C’mon, you can’t say that you were"I'm also gonna need you to go ahead and come in on Sunday, too..." never lectured about your TPS reports at least once in your lifetime πŸ™‚

And of course, another unforgettable line from the movie is “Uh-oh. Sounds like somebody’s got a case of the Mondays.” Yeah, don’t we all. But it seemed like yesterday’s case of the Mondays was worse than normal. Yeah imagine having a great weekend, then walking in to the office, checking your email to find a little controversy on a project you’re working on, and the email chain begins on Friday nite after you leave the office (mind you, I didn’t leave at 5 on the dot) But even better, someone else’s misunderstanding is being interpreted as me screwing up. Talk about “guilty til proven innocent”, huh. (Which brings to mind another line from the movie…“So that means when I make a mistake, I have eight different people coming by to tell me about it.” ) Thankfully, the issue got resolved and my semi-good name was cleared. Still doesn’t mean I have to like it…or think it was a nice way to start off the week…

And what does having a case of the Mondays have to do with running? Glad you asked…well I decided to join the downtown crew after work for their usual 6 and frontloaded with a couple of miles on the West Side highway path. Went up north a little bit then turned around…and just as I turned around, a biker ran right into me. Guess it was partially my fault, I didn’t see him as he was behind me and I guess I turned around without much warning. And thankfully I was OK (Mr. Garmin took a little bit of a hit, but I put him back together) but it was still scary, especially considering how a biker led to a certain injury a year and a half ago. Thankfully, the 6 miles with the Flyer crew was without incident…

So I plan on hitting the Central Park bridle path for a few miles tonite, and I totally expect that I will be knocked down somehow. Either by a biker, a loose dog, or my own klutziness. All I ask of you is if you see me down for the count later, please help me up. Thanks in advance πŸ™‚

Now back to those TPS reports…

2 thoughts on “"somebody’s got a case of the mondays"

  1. Ummm, I'm going to have to go ahead and ask you to run on Sunday too….

  2. dear god, has Bill Lumbergh taken over running the MTP or something? πŸ˜›

Leave a Reply

