no air

Tell me how I’m supposed to breathe with no air…
Can’t live, can’t breathe with no air…

(ahhh…another product of American Idol. not to mention Chris Brown during his pre-gf-beater era…)

Summer in NYC has arrived once again with a vengeance. I swear, the beginning of this week, there was literally no air in Central Park…definitely made those runs a leisurely pace…not by choice. Which is good, as I did have to recover from not only Saturday’s race, but my long run too…

…yeah my long run on Sunday. I got through it, but it definitely was not pretty. First off, I slept a little later than I wanted to…I was quite a bit hungover from one too many sangrias and a Blue Moon on Saturday nite…celebrated my race a little too much, I guess 😉 And just like last month’s LTR, I was feeling the effects of it quite a bit. Only saving grace was that it was cloudy and relatively cool. But about 10 miles in, I took a spill on the bridle path…luckily for me I didn’t get scraped up too bad and I was right by a water fountain to wash it off. But it was only a matter of time til that would happen 🙂 But I was able to finish it off without any more damage…14 and change in the books.

BTW, I started writing this post on Wednesday and am now just getting to finish it up. Talk about finally coming up for air!!

And what else this week…oh yeah, I was gonna do some tempo stuff on Wednesday morning before work, but the snooze button won out. Which meant I would have to take my off day then instead of today…which honestly I think was probably better and sorta glad I listened to my body (or in this case, ignored the alarm.) Wednesday nite was spent with the team tipping back some yummy pints of beer (2 pints of my favorite blueberry ale, followed by a pint of an apricot wheat beer-which I actually think I liked better!)

And thankfully I didn’t ignore the alarm Thursday morning…as I had happy hour plans with work after work, it meant I could only get my workout done in the morning. Off to the Great Hill track I went, with the intention of doing 3 x 5 laps at tempo (just over a mile) Guess I shoulda had my coffee before I ran because my mind was foggy-I was a little confused and thought it was 3 laps to a mile…oops!! Thanksfully I remembered it during the 2nd and salvaged the workout…so it changed to 1 x 3 laps, 2 x 5 laps at tempo topped off with another 2 laps fast…paces for all were 7:51 (legs still waking up a little), 7:32, 7:35, 7:03. Not bad considering I also had to contend with someone mowing the grass in the center and occasionally dipping into the running lane…and today’s recovery 5 (done late in the morning-yay for summer days!) felt just nice 🙂

This weekend is shaping up to be a hectic one (very little coming up for air, i’m sure!)…besides helping celebrate a few birthdays (still can’t believe my baby brother is now 30!! damn i am old) yeah lotsa running on the agenda. 18 on tap for tomorrow, and a friend and I plan to take advantage of Summer Streets for the bulk of it. Then Sunday, I will be volunteering at a water station at the NYC Half…downtown, around mile 12. And I have to get there mad early, and I know the subways wont be too dependable…so why the heck not run down there from the UWS? Would give me 5 miles, if not more…so yeah, thats what I’m going to do. For those of you running-good luck, run smart, run strong-hope you all have great races (yeah, especially you 😉 )

2 thoughts on “no air

  1. Hi! I was the weirdo runner you saw today who reads your blog 🙂 Thanks so much for volunteering today. I was knocking on death's door and couldn't imagine what my race would be like w/o you guys.

  2. I volunteered in the park for the Half last year and had a lot of fun – hope you did too!

Leave a Reply

