caught up

I’m so
Caught up
Got me feelin’ it
Caught up
I don’t know what it is
But it seems hes got me twisted…
I’m so
Caught up
Got me feelin’ it
Caught up
I’m losin’ control…

I’ve come to the conclusion tonite that I really need to stay off the main Central Park drives when running the day after a speed workout. I mean, seemingly every single friggin group in the NYC area is in the park doing their workouts…CPTC, Urban Athletics, Nike, NYRR…I’m sure there are others that I am not thinking about right now, but you get the idea šŸ™‚ And believe me, it’s not all that bad…there were some good peeps that I was more than happy to “run” into (haha) But for the most part…the lower loop that I stuck to was just a madhouse. And these guys weren’t exactly running easy either…and I just got way too caught up in it, got sucked in here and there. Plus it wasn’t exactly helpful that I was listening to fast-paced music on the iPod…maybe I need a slower-paced playlist for easy/recovery days?

Anyways, it wasn’t a tempo run by any means for me, but it wasn’t exactly recovery either. But instead of thinking “wow, I am able to run this well the day after a speed workout”…I’m actually not happy with myself at all. I’m supposed to be keeping easy runs easy for a reason, and I don’t want to be becoming one of those runners that I hate šŸ˜› I’m actually looking forward to leading the 9:30 group this Sunday at the LTR, I’m glad to have a reason to force myself to really, really dial it back. But now I am paranoid I am gonna be one of those paceleaders doing 8:45s instead of 9:30s…

Alright, focusing on the positive now. Last nite was another speed workout where I had to check back to all my previous running logs to see if I ever did a certain hill repeat this fast, or a certain tempo pace. The verdict was that it was a solid improvement. Bodes well for me, but it is still early to be making any predictions. I am looking forward to the 5K next Tuesday…I think I’m itching to race a little bit and it’d be good for me to see where I’m at…

5 thoughts on “caught up

  1. Those UA folks are really nice folks šŸ˜‰

  2. yeah yeah yeah!! anything to get my teammates to spend more money in the store šŸ˜‰

  3. Tourists are always the problem! ARGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHH! Just when you would think they would just hang out on times sq or soho…they are everywhere! Come to think of it, tourists are ok unless they don't block the course! šŸ˜›

  4. Tourists seem to be more of the problem on weekends. Last nite…oh those definitely were not tourists, they were regulars. Gotta love marathon training season in CP…good seeing u wednesday nite!

  5. Heh heh sounds like a bit of a jungle over that way! But still, how romantic the idea of going for a run in Central Park…

Leave a Reply

