ready to go

I’m back yeah standing
On the rooftops shouting out,
Baby I’m ready to go
I’m back and ready to go
From the rooftops shout it out

Couldn’t think of better lyrics to sum up starting training for marathon #3. 18 weeks til I take on the Marine Corps Marathon. And even though it will be a little bit of a different experience…out-of-town marathon and all, i’m sure in a lot of ways it will be the same. As for training, I think the approach I used last year worked great and plan on something similar this time around…I think it said a lot that even though it was work fitting in the miles, I never once felt wiped out or burned out. Maybe just a little more mileage…and just having more experience under my belt, can make some difference…

And if there was a week to get me fired up for marathon training, last week was it. Was just one of those weeks where every run just felt great. Most encouraging one of all being my speed workout…where I sub-7’ed every repeat. And I looked back at all my logs and I had never ever ran sub-7 pace for 800m…let alone 1K…in a workout. Ever. So am I ahead of where I was this time last year? I sure think so!!

But of course there was time for me to have fun runs too!! Saturday, I once again helped lead the Flyers Arches & Bridges Run (may I also add, the morning after 3 glasses of sauvignon blanc after our thankfully-not-rained out happy hour at the central park boathouse the nite before…) and thankfully the rain held off for most of the run!! Then the next morning, I hooked up with LG (no not *that* kind of hooking up…what were you all thinking? :-P) to run a few miles and watch the 5-mile race and cheer for our own respective mens’ teams running hard for points…and whatever else πŸ™‚ Saw lotsa NYF representation, for sure (hi Lam!)…lotsa “go Flyers” were said by this chick. Anyways, wound up doing a few more miles than originally planned…guess time flies when you are having fun πŸ˜‰ Worth it though!! And even though pace is usually secondary on social runs for me, reviewing the splits afterwards, I was surprised at how quick it seemed for the effort (since I was still able to chat and cheer…) If this wasn’t the perfect last “pre-season” run, I don’t know what is πŸ™‚

So-the few extra miles meant I wound up with 35 and change miles for the week…man, you’d think I started marathon training already! πŸ™‚ But I’m still considering today to be the official start. Today is an XT day, and tomorrow will be my first official run of MCM training!! Followed with drinks…ahhh, a perfect way to kick things off!! πŸ™‚ Here’s to third time possibly being the charm…?

One thought on “ready to go

  1. It was awesome to see you out not once…but twice on Sunday? Didn't know what secret route you took to manage that…Either way, I'm glad it was as fun for you to cheer as for us to see you there. Thanks.Word verification: undesses?

Leave a Reply

