more highs and lows

I just updated my Facebook status-that I will be happy if this upcoming week is an uneventful one. And I mean that.

Needless to say, the rollercoaster continued last week. The high point being last Tuesday when I found out that I won the election for Flyers Vice President. But something else would happen to make that seem so meaningless in comparison.

Don’t you feel that if there is a certain time of day that you get a phone call, that it is not good news? My landline rings at 7 am on Wednesday. As I don’t have caller ID on that line and I am praying that all it was is a telemarketer, I let it ring. But then my cell phone rings and it’s my parents. And I know what it the call is about, even before I answer. The last time my parents called me at that time of the day was 5 or so years ago when my grandfather passed away. And unfortunately, it was similar news here.

My uncle had unfortunately lost his fight in his battle since last summer with a blood disorder. We all thought he would beat it, he was doing so well for awhile, but suffered a setback in the last couple of weeks that he just could not bounce back from. Some of you may remember from these two posts, that he was the relative that I was running NYCM “for”. But there was only so much I could do.

Even now, a few days later, it does not seem real. Like I am still in some sort of bad dream. Not surprisingly, there was lot of emotion, lots of tears shed. He was an amazing, kind man, who lived his life to the fullest and will be missed by so many…it was just way too soon for him. My reaction-not as much tears shed, but believe me I was sick to my stomach when I heard the news…I heard my dad’s words played over and over again in my head…but I didn’t want to cry, I felt I had to be strong, keep it together for the rest of my family. I know they needed and appreciated it. I know that’s what my uncle would have wanted. I-and many others-have never seen him be anything but happy. But I know when it really is going to hit me. The holidays that we spent together. Baseball season. Random emails and instant messages. All the other little things, the inside jokes.

Things will never be the same for my family-there will always be something missing. But somehow, we will survive. My aunt and cousins have a great support system, which we witnessed over the last few days. And as I have discovered-so have I. You all know who you are-and thank you.

And if this upcoming week is a boring, uneventful, status quo week…well that will just be fine with me.

9 thoughts on “more highs and lows

  1. Yeah, I agree. Sometimes uneventful is the better than the alternative. Much sympathies for your loss, nyflygirl. Take care.

  2. My dad died last year. No matter how prepared you are, you’re never really ready. Very sorry for your loss.dana

  3. I’m so sorry to hear about the passing of your uncle. Please send my condolences to you and your family.

  4. I am so sorry for the loss you and your family are going through.

  5. My sympathies on your loss. I lost my uncle to lung cancer two days after my daughter was born. A few ups and downs… Hold tight to your family. And I hope you have an uneventful week full of healing runs.

  6. Hi i am very sorry for you loss!!! Be strong nyflygirl!!!

  7. hey–hope you’re doing okay. I’m thinking about you.xo

  8. Very sorry to hear it; these things are never easy.

  9. Thanks everyone for your thoughts and comments-much appreciated. I’m hangin’ in there…

Leave a Reply

