poll time again-you knew this was coming!!

What better way to kick off taper madness than to play “guess my marathon time”? I have the poll in the sidebar this time…this will stay open til marathon morning!!

Again-realistic guesses please! ๐Ÿ™‚ To help, here are the stats…

  • First (and only) marathon-NYC 2006 in 3:58:26 (splits of 1:58:02/2:00:24.) Picture-perfect weather. Highest mileage week in training was 41, with 3 20-mile runs. Best shorter races that time were the Club Champs 5M (39:03) and the NYC Half (1:47:51).
  • This time, topped out at a 47 mile week, with 6 weeks where my mileage was at least 40, and again, 3 20-milers. Races-this time around my best 5M time was 38:11 and best half time was 1:42:20, and ran a half (1:52:37) at hopeful MP.
  • In terms of predictors for now…my Philly Distance Run time predicts 3:35:49-a bit ambitious considering how flat that half-marathon course was…
  • My Club Champs 5M time predicts 3:44:37 (that race being hilly, hot and humid!)
  • Again, one of the choices I feel is very unrealistic, but I felt I had to put it in anyway.
  • Right now, the goal is loosely between 3:45 and 3:50

Vote early. But do not vote often-I once again fixed it so certain people won’t try and stuff the ballot box…you know who you are ๐Ÿ˜‰

Thanks for playing!

What will my NYC Marathon time be?
( polls)

6 thoughts on “poll time again-you knew this was coming!!

  1. Ooh…I’ve been waiting for your “guess my marathon time” poll for a while now. For some reason I find this more fun than trying to figure out what my time should be.But anyways, I didn’t need all that extra info you provided to make a guess this time around. Only question is…what prize do I get if I win? Or…would you even know that I won?On a more serious note…I think you have too many options on the high end and not enough on the low end…down short change yourself as I’m apt to do…dare to dream!Happy tapering!

  2. Based on where you are this year (with training and racing), I really think 3:45 is very, very doable for you.

  3. I agree. You should go out in 1:42 for the first half and see what happens. ;p

  4. e-now thats a totally random number…laminator-well you can always post your guess in the comments ๐Ÿ™‚ as for the options-i guess i’m trying to be realistic in my goal setting…set the bar high, but not too highanthony-thanks! i think it’s all gonna depend on if the weather cooperates…jud-um, what part of “realistic” guess did you not read ๐Ÿ˜‰

  5. sprint to the finish with a 3:40:35 – ’nuff said.

Leave a Reply

