running more forgiving than life sometimes…

so, the baby bro finally broke down and joined Facebook (though he swore up and down that he never will.) and i was shocked to find on his friends list…was the Ex-Boyfriend. (and apparently the Ex found baby bro via the “email friend finder”…meaning they must still keep in touch. why my brother keeps in touch with someone i broke up with 8 years ago, i will never understand…) So yeah, I had to sneak a peek at his friends list…which of course included his wife…and some other peeps I remember from college, some with their shiny married names, others with their babies as their profile picture…

and it’s not just that, it seems whenever i browse the listings of people I graduated high school and college with, that’s all I see-peeps with married names, or either their babies or wedding photos as their profile picture. And I think “my god, that’s so many…what’s wrong with me that I’m just not there yet?” Yeah, no matter how much I may have accomplished so far, there’s a part of me that really feels like a loser that I haven’t settled down and started a family yet. I turn 32 in a month, it’s not like I have all the time in the world…

Then I get to thinking…ya know, we have runners in their late 30s winning Olympic marathons-as was the case this past weekend. Some runners run some of their best times as a masters or vet runner, in fact we’re told that improvement comes with time, especially in the marathon. Qualification standards are made easier for us, the older we get (at least for Boston and NYC.) Running is a sport, a way of life that seems so much more forgiving than…well, real life. There’s no “hurry up and do something by a certain time” (well, unless you’re trying to achieve Olympic qualifying standards, but that ain’t me!) Older runners are admired for their accomplishments, not looked down on. Guess in the race of life, I will always be trying to keep up, but maybe in this race, I’ll have more of a chance of winning…

7 thoughts on “running more forgiving than life sometimes…

  1. Speaking from experience, I truly think it's better to wait until after you're 30 to get married. By the age of 30, I was a lot different than I was at 25 (the age I was when I got married the first time).As far as kids are concerned, I've never wanted them so seeing others with theirs only invokes a feeling of relief in me that I'm free. Parenthood is just not my thing, except when it concerns cats & dogs. ;-)BTW, I recently discovered your blog, and I really like it, in case you were wondering. 🙂

  2. Thirty-two is still a great age. I feel (at 36) like if I were to invent an “ideal girl” she might be 32 … old enough that you have things in common, she’s serious about a relationship and interested in settling down, but not so old that you really have to rush things if you want to have a family. And y’know, two of my neighbors are women in their 40s who are both going through divorces. It’s not like people have perfect lives after they get married, however “shiny” their new names might seem.And that is sorta weird about your brother; he should show you some loyalty…

  3. Right, I was looking at the ages of Olympic marathoners as they have all the handout notes by event in the Main Press Room over here. That’s the first thing I noticed. 35ish being the norm for women’s marathon elite. I think the Chinese runner who finished fourth was mid-20s, she was an aberration. And hey I’m a lot older than that and I just ran my own “Olympic Half Marathon”! 1:56 oh yeahHope your training is going great, and feel free to add a Facebook if this works…http://www.new.facebook.com/profile.php?id=820570402

  4. miss rachel-I do know what you mean. Lord knows I was still trying to “find myself” in my 20s…probably still doing a little bit of that now, but not so much 🙂 I guess I was having a “Carrie Bradshaw moment”…the episode where she was feeling pressured by Aidan to set a date…her thought about things like marriage and kids was “Do we really want these things-or are we just programmed?” And thanks for the props on the blog :)derek-you have a point…and maybe this whole thing is just easier on/for men than for women…i dunno. as for my bro-hey, i did do such a horrible, selfish thing by robbing my family of a son-in-law/brother-in-law (that was slightly sarcastic…)mark-congrats on (unofficially) breaking 2 hours 🙂 hope you’re having fun in olympic-land…

  5. It was official…I had lots of witnesses scoring with me. It just wasn’t NYRR scored.

  6. yes, but was the distance wheel-measured and USATF-certified? :-p(ok…now i’m just being obnoxious…lol)

  7. Um, hello? Hello, Ms. 32-year-old? Your 41-year-old former Flyer pal is still single. Not that I feel like a loser, mind you — and neither should you! Life is not always greener on the other side. And things happen in their own time.

Leave a Reply

