it’s tracky

It’s Tracky to rock a rhyme, to rock a rhyme that’s right on time
It’s Tracky…Tr-tr-tr-tracky

(with apologies to Run D.M.C.-but I just had the song in my head and couldn’t resist the tiny modification)

Anyway-yesterday brought me to do speedwork at the East 6th St track, which is quickly becoming a favorite of mine. Actually-forget “becoming”-it *is* a favorite. And like last week-a tempo-paced workout was in order, and not to go all out. So with the help of a certain great pacing partner, we decided to aim for between 7:30-8:00 pace for the 800 meter intervals…then take it from there for the shorter ones, but not to push the pace too much. And how did it work out?

Interval length Time Pace
800m 3:45.90 7:34.44
800m 3:44.10 7:30.82
800m 3:46.24 7:35.12
800m 3:48.49 7:39.65
400m 1:51.43 7:28.32
400m 1:51.49 7:28.56
400m 1:50.34 7:23.94
200m 0:54.20 7:16.13
200m 0:52.70 7:04.06

Pretty damn consistent, right? The pace actually felt pretty good the entire time-didn’t feel like I was “dying” once, even with the shorter recoveries than normal. I don’t know what it is about this track, I always seem to have a great workout here.

Oh!! But this workout is not without just a little drama…as the predicted thunderstorms actually did happen, with about 3 repeats to go. Was crazy-the sky looked greenish, the wind and rain blowing sideways, absolutely pouring, puddles forming on the track…at first we all thought this was crazy fun, but by the time we got to the 2 x 200, we just wanted to be done…hence shortening the last recovery and speeding up a bit!! (but again…still not all-out.) And I was grateful I chose to not wear a light-colored sports bra…you figure out why. :-p

And thankfully, some of us drowned rats were troopers and indulged in some “recovery beverages” (aka beer-Blue Moon for me, of course!) and good eats-thanking my lucky stars that I had dry clothes to change into…

Ahhhh…working from home in the AM, Yankee game in the afternoon, great track workout in the evening followed by after-speed drinks…if that ain’t a perfect day, I don’t know what is :-p

And shockingly-I was awake around 5ish this morning without having to use the alarm…that *never* happens!! Decided to take advantage and run this morning…some nice recovery miles on the bridle path…beautiful morning (but a bit humid!) Leaves me off the hook to squeeze it in tomorrow…since I’m gonna be out tonite as well, not sure if I’ll have the same fortune of happily rolling out of bed before 6 am tomorrow!!

3 thoughts on “it’s tracky

  1. Very impressive speed workout. Lets Go …. ok, I won’t do it. 🙂

  2. I love that track. Nice work.Sorry about the ‘Stache.

  3. I believe the term is a little “sprinkle.” Haha. That track is sooo much better than Riverbank!

Leave a Reply

