tagged again, after so long…

Thanks sooo much, Laminator!! :-p I haven’t answered one of these things in so long…maybe a coupla years? actually I think I was tagged once last year and wussed out…so I’ll play this time…

Here are the rules:
Each player answers the 5 questions on their own blog. At the end of your post you tag 5 other people and post their names. Go to their blogs and leave a comment on their blogs telling them they’ve been tagged and to look at your blog for details. When they’ve answered the questions on their own blog, they come back to yours to tell you.

1. How would you describe your running 10 years ago?

Thinking back to the spring/summer of 1998…any running I did was strictly for vanity. I remember my last semester of college (spring 1998)…I had just broken up with my boyfriend, and being newly single and I guess sorta “on the prowl”…I had a lot of body image issues (like, how can I compete with those skinny, perfect sorority girls?) So I forced myself to run at least 2-3 times a week for about an hour on our school’s inside “track” (which wasn’t really a track…just something for people to run laps on since upstate NY winters are too damn cold!) Honestly, looking back on it…considering I was not eating very much either, I don’t know how I ever had the energy to do that. The summer and beyond, just used the treadmill at the gym.

2. What is your best and worst race experience?

Best-that’s a tossup between the 2006 NYC Marathon and the 2008 Broad Street Run. The former-due to achieving a long-time goal and doing it quite well!! The latter-performance-wise was my best race ever to date, but it was just one of those days where everything clicked, the stars were aligned, etc…

Worst-tossup between the 2007 Queens Half and the Mini 10K this past weekend!! I don’t think I need to explain why. Those race reports say it all 🙂

3. What is the best or worst piece of advice you’ve been given about running?

Best-keep hard runs hard, and easy runs easy.
Worst-in 2005, just as I was starting to run again after being sidelined for a month due to plantar fasciitis…I had asked someone (who was supposedly quite knowledgable!) if I had any hope of salvaging NYCM that year and that person suggested to me to try and run the 18-mile tuneup that weekend. Ummm…wouldn’t that be asking for trouble?

4. Why do you run?

I guess I still run for vanity in a way…but honestly, moreso for the social aspect. I have met so many people through this sport…it’s really made a big city a smaller world for me. And oh yeah…I guess it satisfies that tiniest bit of a competitive edge I have 🙂

5. Tell us something surprising about yourself that not many people would know.

This one is tough! (I guess I feel like I’ve been such an open book via this blog!)
Well-I did have a post up on this once that I have since deleted…about 7 years ago, I had a “thing” going on with one of the senior VP’s at my then-company. We dated on the sly for around 2 1/2 months and it was quite intense-boy did I fall hard. (And I was still living at home at the time…keeping that secret was one of the hardest things I’ve ever had to do.) Long story short-he ended things, I was OK with it, was too hard keeping up this charade-then a few weeks later I found out he was dating another girl in the company and there was a couple weeks overlap in there. What a prick. And have I learned my lesson about dipping my pen in company ink? I’ll let you all speculate about that one 🙂

Whew…that’s over. Now time for me to tag 5 more…
Hmm…I’ll tag my other Team Black teammates…Johnny and jb24.
And you too, Runner26.
And you’re it, Bandana-brain…can’t wait to see what kind of pic you post this time 🙂
And Uptown Girl…if you want a break from marathon training…here ya go!!

Thanks and apologies in advance 🙂

One thought on “tagged again, after so long…

  1. Very cool stories! I knew I’d get some real good ones out of you. Good job!

Leave a Reply

