baby steps

I ran today! For the first time in almost 3 weeks. OK, it was only 1.35 treadmill miles…not impressive, but at least it was something…

At my previous PT appointment this past Friday, it seemed there was progress made…the pain had significantly subsided and the muscle definitely felt much better when it was being massaged…looked like it was healing nicely. The physical therapist then had me try “running” on a trampoline for 2 minutes…and gave me another minute when i said it was still feeling fine. She told me that if there was no pain later that day or on Saturday, then I could try a short run.

So I did, today after a spinning class. Set the treadmill for 10 minutes at about 10m/m…after 3 minutes it felt fine, so bumped it up to 9:30…bumped it up to 9:00 for another 3, and 8:30 for the last minute…cooled down for 3 minutes at 10:00. And everything feels fine!!! yay…

Guess my XT routine for the last coupla weeks did the trick (spinning 3x week, yoga 3x week, PT 1-2x week)…that, plus the PT exercises I have to do daily (3 calf stretches 3x/day, 60 calf raises/day) helped rid some of that horrible tightness from my legs…I’ll still keep this up for the next coupla weeks but start adding in a loop of the rez here and there…

But-I would be lying if I said I wasn’t apprehensive about coming back to group runs. I do miss the social factor-but I’m afraid of getting myself back into the same vicious cycle i was in before…I’m too slow, I can’t hold on to the pace comfortably, so I either have to get “dropped” or try to speed up and risk re-injury.

one step at a time, i guess…

in non-running news, I hope this is the last blog post i write on this computer-as my new laptop should be arriving any day and this keyboard is driving me crazy!!!

3 thoughts on “baby steps

  1. Yay! Glad you were able to run! I think you are doing the right thing taking in slow. No need to rush. Injuries take a LONG time to completely heal. Perhaps I will see you tomorrow? Or definitely Sat!! Can’t wait!

  2. yep…you will see me both days…my god, this is a busy week!! 🙂

  3. welcome back to running. I bet you are back to full swing quicker than you expect. HC

Leave a Reply

