now i really hate that damn ad campaign

I know several bloggers have voiced their opinions on Reebok’s much-talked about ad campaign…and it previously didn’t have too much of an effect on me, but for whatever reason, I really find this one insulting:
yet another run easy ad...
Again, I know all too well the merits of running easy, but why insult those who give it their all in races? Well, they ain’t getting my business…I speak with my wallet and I am more than happy to throw money Asics’ way.

And I noted the catch phase for Urban Athletics’ training group…”Fast is Fun.” I like that one!! Even if it wasn’t originally meant to be the anti-“Run Easy,” I think it should be! 🙂

9 thoughts on “now i really hate that damn ad campaign

  1. A certain litigator asked me what I thought of those ads–figuring I’d dislike them. But I said I liked the idea of trying to encourage people to just run; like for the fun of it. No need for pressure–just enjoy yourself. What’s the harm in encouraging fitness without the intensity of competition? But–this ad is taking it too far. You’re right. There’s no reason to put down serious athletes or those who “give it their all.” That is no way to earn respect from consumers.

  2. I don’t really get the ads. They seem caught between the “just run for fun” message and something else, but I don’t know what. They do nothing for me. And when it comes to running gear, ads aren’t going to influence my purchase. What fits, what’s comfortable, and, often, what’s on sale are the deciding factors.

  3. I am of two minds with this ad campaign. The side of me that knows physical fitness is good for everyone likes this campaign. While the competitive and proud runner in me hates it.Regardless the campaign is working very well as it has inspired tons on brand awareness.

  4. I don’t see this how this campaign encourages anyone to get fit. I’d be happy to hear otherwise, but it does not seem to me that it will convince anyone that nice easy jogs will be pleasant.

  5. I’m with BCG on this one, and I personally don’t get what market their targeting with this campaign.Let’s break it down into 3 basic types of runners:1. Hardcore. Granted, they’re actively alienating the hardcore runners — not a smart move, but a market that Reebok never had anyway. 2. Non-competitive, fitness runners. Are there really runners out there that don’t compete AND don’t take their fitness seriously at all? Even years ago, before entering my first race, I still ran to achieve a very basic level of fitness that took some effort. It was never “easy”.3. Those just starting, or at least thinking about it. If you’re just starting to run, you’d want someone to validate a sense of achievement, instead of telling you that what your doing is really easy, wouldn’t you? And if you’re just thinking about it, you’d be pretty dismayed to find out, during your first run, that it’s actually not easy at all.So who’s the market? Who’s really running easy anyway? Adidas (who owns Reebok) sure missed the mark with this.

  6. As a market researcher, I wonder what, if any, research Reebok was doing for this campaign…and I think their marketing people need to be fired 😛

  7. hi!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Leaving for vacation today — in JERSEY!anyway, back to the point, agreed, all. Also want to point out that Reebok should be immensely flattered that anyone is bothering to thrink through their inept campaign this deeply. In fact, I’ve often wondered if anyone other than a “hard-core” runner would bother to give it a second look or thought. (those retro b&w images are hardly eye catching) If their target market is newbies, I think they’d just glaze over and move to the next bus shelter.Totally weird and counterproductive IMO.Take good care of NYC for me….HEIDI

  8. I agree with runner 26- it’s great to encourage people to run easy and to promote running as open to everyone. But it’s a completely different story to put down competitive people, and the non-elites who leave it all on the course!

  9. Slightly off topic, but I really like that photo Reebok’s used. Is it near the finish, after the finish? Was she trying to overtake the person in front of her? Did she pass him/her and then collapse or come up short? Was she trying to hit a time cut-off? That photo screams possibilities at you and I like it.Of course, I despise Reebok for belittling her effort. (That’s no joke. I don’t disvalue “running easy,” but I hate the connotation of these ads.)

Leave a Reply

