you can always go downtown

(post title stolen from those Visa TV spots)

Anyway, last nite was my first race outside Central Park in awhile!! As I had mentioned before, our company was shut out of this year’s Corporate Challenge, so I suggested we do the Wall Street Run instead. Figure it’d be a nice change too…away from the Central Park crowds, and no team t-shirts this year (so we could wear whatever we wanted instead of heavy cotton!)

We had 13 people sign up, most of them planning on walking the thing. So when the company captain said that we should probably get there by 6:10 for a 6:30 start, I knew I had to do my own thing šŸ™‚ And my office is right near the West Side Highway bike path, and it’s 2 miles to the race start…and I needed to do a warm-up anyway, so I just ran down there after work-much more direct than taking the subway too!! I had told my colleagues that I’d be by the 7 minute pace marker…but I saw people standing nearby who didn’t look like they’d be running hard, not to mention someone saying “Runners are up in the front…joggers are around here…walkers are the rest.” Decision: save myself and move up. So I did. And we waited for the race start…was delayed a few minutes since they couldn’t seem to close off West Street…finally we were off!!

Took Mile 1 hard…was a tiny bit hilly, but still nothing compared to Central Park…ran past ground zero and the WTC PATH terminal. I was pleased to see my mile 1 split of 7:34-this could be great if I can keep it up…

Mile 2 was through more twisty, turny, potholed streets…was still running pretty hard but trying to keep an eye on the road too, make sure I didn’t wipe out!! That mile was 7:36…not bad, not bad!! Would have been happy with breaking 24, but looks like sub-23 may be on the horizon…

Mile 3-around the very bottom of Manhattan, and back up towards the World Financial Center. I tried to pick up the pace a little here. The last little bit of the race is on the West Side Esplanade by the Hudson River…nice little final straightaway. Though I was surprised when I looked down at my watch when the split read about 6:30 and I couldn’t see the finish line…anyway, I gave it all I had and this mile was 7:40. (So I think this mile was a tiny bit long…)

Final time-22:50, 7:36 pace (assuming it was truly 3 miles…I don’t think it was a true 5K, but definitely longer than 3 miles.) And of the 13 that signed up from my company…only 3, including me had our times captured by the chip…and once again, I was first šŸ™‚

Afterwards, there was a nice little “after-party” in the World Financial Center…caught up with a few Flyer teammates…before heading to Urban Athletics to drop some more $$ on running clothes on sale (and knocking back a Corona-gotta love them for serving good stuff.) Then I headed to an after-party with some Rez Dogs and Harriers…at Chevy’s right across from the financial center. It was for Merrill Lynch, but I got in because…well, a sweet smile to the doorman works every time šŸ˜‰ I didn’t plan to stay too long…but time flies when you’re knocking back beers like water, before I knew it, it was past midnight!! Despite this morning’s hangover, it was fun…I really needed a good night like that.

And as for the race, I’m definitely happy with it-was nice to get out of Central Park, and you know what, short races really aren’t as bad as I remember-as long as they don’t have monster hills and are outside of Central Park!! Maybe I was burned out a little bit by having most of my racing there…so some NJ races may be on the horizon later this year. We shall see!

now playing: “number 1” ~ goldfrapp

3 thoughts on “you can always go downtown

  1. You are totally back! Downtown is great, isn’t it? Glad you had such a great night out; you deserved it after such a performance šŸ˜‰

  2. Nice going, Flychick! Sounds like you had fun…but don’t let that smile get you into too much trouble!

  3. Good effort… particularly the last stretch.

Leave a Reply

