there are worse things i could have done with twenty bucks

so i did go to that event last nite solo, and honestly, that part wasn’t as bad as i thought it would be.

(nope, instead it was the usual disorganization of the bar service, overpriced drinks, crowds in one part of the bar which made it impossible to move. I actually liked the bar that it was at, had been there before, but I really didn’t see it as a venue for hundreds of people)

And yes, the same mishmash of guys. The normal ones, the annoying ones, the ones who aren’t even Jewish and just go to try and pick up chicks. I did chat up a couple of the normal ones, but still don’t think I met my Mr. Right last night.

It was fun, though I was sorta reminded why I haven’t gone to one of these things in months…just feel like I’ve sorta outgrown it…

***************************************************

i’ve finally hit over 20 mpw for the first time in quite awhile. unfortunately, it just hasn’t felt “good.” I know I sound like a broken record, but I just feel seriously slow and out of shape, and it’s frustrating to not be able to keep up with my teammates and running partners, and I’m sure they’re sick of me always asking them to slow down. Even 5-6 mile runs seriously wipe me out. I don’t know if it’s the constant cold weather, or if instead of “muscle memory,” mine instead have “muscle amnesia” or….what. Do I just suck it up for another month and pray that spring comes sooner rather than later?

6 thoughts on “there are worse things i could have done with twenty bucks

  1. Hey….just for the record, I didn’t slow down for you 🙂 You know my fat ass always drags behind.That running zest….or whatever you call it…. has left you…We need to get you your spark back!I think I know what it is you need to break the spell…

  2. Nothing wrong with going there just to “pick up chicks…” it’s about meeting people, right?? Some guys like Jewish girls…

  3. NSA-stop it, you sound like me :-p I’m not sure exactly what you are referring to…email me ;-)(I do think part of it is the weather, as it was glorious running in 45 degree weather tonite.)derek-mmm hmmm, yes i know some guys have a thing for Jewish girls 😉

  4. I don’t mind being asked to slow down. I’m usually in your shoes, so I totally emphathize. Methinks it’s more mental than anything; when you’re coming off a difficult period, sometimes it’s hard to get back into a physical groove as well. Just keep at it. You’ll get it back.And NSA, stop disparaging your tush!

  5. It will get better. Not every week can be epic. Hang in there and you will surprise yourself with some great runs.

  6. Congrats on the 20 mile week. It’ll come back. Just be patient. Trust me I know how tough it is as I’m going through a different version of that right now:0)

Leave a Reply

