in search of: my dance partner

i love dance music, and i love to dance to it. i think those of you who have been at events like the Flyers awards party know that. yet I felt completely out of place and out of sorts at the Flyers’ salsa night the other night. I just couldn’t get the steps down, no matter how hard I tried, even when another teammate tried teaching me. Finally I was like “forget it” and was more content to just observe while sipping a glass of sangria. I’m probably better off sticking with things that I can do right on the first try…like running a marathon πŸ˜‰ (Think I also just felt “off” that day…rainy day, Monday, bad work day.) But still…dancing is much more fun and enjoyable when there are no rules, no steps to memorize, and just go with it.

But it seemed like the scene that night seemed to resemble my dating life in general. First off, too many women, not enough men (representing how much I need to compete.) Those who can’t do, stuck on the sidelines, those who can do, get the attention, get the guy. I even said to my teammates that night “I bet this would be so much easier if I had the right partner.” So there you go. Where’s my dance partner? I ain’t getting any younger…

(Yes, I can probably come up with dating analogies for anything. Don’t make me repeat the running shoe analogy.)

on the topic of running, I still have not run a step since November 5th. it’s not due to laziness, and the legs feel fine…just been getting home way too late in the evenings, and am just tired all the time so AM runs are not happening. this cannot continue though…not if I want to still be able to fit into my clothes…i hope to get something in this weekend!

7 thoughts on “in search of: my dance partner

  1. great post, flygirl…I so agree with you….as for me….I’m a doctor….I watch grey’s anatomy…where is MY McDreamy????

  2. I hate salsa dancing for the very same reasons: I can’t get my hips to do that sashay thing. And any dancing that involves a male partner…forget it. I can’t overcome my urge to lead instead of follow. I’d rather shake my groove thing according to my own interpretation. Still, I’m envious of those who dance really well, my mom included. And I agree that the right partner can make all the difference. But yes, where IS McDreamy. Scratch that: where IS McSTEAMY?

  3. After five years of dance lessons (1993-1998), believe me when I say that ballroom/Latin dance does not come easily to most people, and certainly not the first time. Having a strong partner helps, but it won’t keep anyone inexperienced from flubbing the steps. Once you get the hang of it and learn how to hear the beat and the style of the music (e.g. a song in 4/4 time is completely different from one in 3/4 time and a salsa sounds nothing like a swing or a foxtrot or a cha-cha), it looks really elegant and is tons of fun. Despite having to conform to formalized steps – and there are infinite variations on these – there is vast opportunity for creativity and self-expression.

  4. I’m not sure when you will meet your “dance partner” (great image), but I know that it will only take an instant. That’s the beauty of it…you wait and wait and wait, and then one day, in the blink of an eye, someone new enters your life.Running can help…I met my bf after a run, unshowered, sans makeup, with baggy clothes on. I was just feeling so good after my run that I invited a total stranger to join me for drinks (and I never do that, I swear). -Eve

  5. I’ve never tried salsa, so I can’t comment on it–but it’s look tricky. Hope it was fun, anyway. As for the running, I wouldn’t worry too much. I’ve been cross training which I hope keeps up my level of fitness — even if it is extrememly low atm πŸ˜‰

  6. Re: Runner26 Likewise- I have not run a step since the marathon and been doing lots of low impact cross training. Don’t feel guilty, you earned those days off! πŸ™‚

  7. re: salsa dancing-basically my problem was that my feet just could not get the steps down, were just out of rhythm (moved too fast)…re: meeting men after running-you know, i think that is one of the best ways to meet guys, as if he likes you in running clothes and no makeup, you know he’s a keeper πŸ™‚ (case in point-our president and the future First Lady met at her first run with the team.)this has kinda reminded me of something…which will be the topic of a future blog post πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

