this is it…

this is it…

oh, this time I know it’s the real thing…

It’s so close, and so surreal. In less than 24 hours, I will be toeing the start line on Staten Island.

And can I just say, this was quite the memorable training cycle?

Let’s see…torrential downpours during not one, but two half-marathons.

Record heat waves not once, but twice!! (and yet, between speedwork and recoveries, toughed it out and did not hit the dreadmill)

Led 2 Long Training Runs around Central Park…one with a very cool group, another with the most.disobedient.group.ever. (with the exception of one person 😉 )

Tackled killer hills in Lake Placid and the Palisades

Fun runs with the Flyers…be it a nighttime jaunt through the boroughs or just a Saturday morning run with impromptu brunches, or exploring the last 10 miles of the marathon course…

An awesome 5-mile race where the entire time-but especially the last half-mile, I felt like a rockstar.

Hit the next age group with a bang

A kick-ass 18 miler when I needed it the most…

The “naked shorts” making their debut in Staten Island

Crowded nights in the park (and a certain teammate teasing me about said rants…)

I’m sure I can think of many more, but that’s all I can think of off the top of my head 🙂

So that’s it. The hard work is done. Now the fun really begins. And it is gonna be fun. How grateful am I that I will have the home field advantage for my first marathon? I can’t wait to see the sights, and see my friends, family and teammates along the way.

And I’ve got a plan-just need to stick to it like glue. Keep those magic nines as long as possible…

And to all my fellow bloggers, readers, commenters-thanks so much for your support in this journey that in blog-land, was a year or so in the making…but in reality, 3 years in the making. The day before the ’03 marathon was when I decided I was going to run it someday. I just can’t believe that day is actually almost here.

For all of you who will be on the course cheering-look for the gal in the red Flyer singlet who looks like my picture 🙂 For those further away and interested in my progress-you know the bib number (and it’s OK to post updates in the comments, but I have one favor to ask-if you’re doing any copying/pasting, please no posting my name-thanks!)

Gonna be an early night for me, so that’s all she wrote until I cross that finish line at Tavern on the Green. Once again-thanks for your support (and best of luck to all the other bloggers who will be running tomorrow!)

8 thoughts on “this is it…

  1. Can’t remember if I got a chance to say good luck Thursday night. So good luck and HAVE FUN! See you at the Power Gel station.

  2. GOod luck! Have fun and I’ll see you up in Harlem!

  3. GOOD LUCK!i have the Tivo set as there is a highlights show on some obscure channel here in Houston tomorrow afternoon! i will be looking for ya !! :O)

  4. Good Luck. – Jon

  5. Hey NFG! Missed you in Greenpoint, but great job on 3:58!

  6. woooooohoooooooo! i see a sub 4;)

  7. Just saw your time in the results. A sub-4 in your first marathon! Fantastic achievement!!! CONGRATULATIONS!

Leave a Reply

