pre-taper madness

yeesh, it’s already grabbing a hold of me. and of course, the way i dealt with it was by shopping.

First, the other day I cleaned out my local GNC when I saw they had almost a box full of Plain Energy flavor PowerGel-since it’s one of the newer flavors, it seems like it’s tougher to find… (and yeah, I decided during the training cycle to switch gels. I like the new thinner texture of the PowerGels and that they have more sodium, and the new plain flavor, and I can’t seem choke down the E-Gels any more without gagging-too thick…)

Then last night was another 20% off shopping night at JackRabbit Sports for the Flyers. The damage? A new pair of shoes (I got the white/silver/lime pair) that will hopefully replace my Cumuluses when they’re shot, a new watch (because my current one is 2 1/2 years old, it’s a Nike one and I’ve heard that its a pain to get the battery replaced, I wanted a watch with more laps and I’m paranoid that it’s going to break down in the next 2 weeks or even worse, during the marathon) and a cool pair of not marathon-perfect, but half-marathon (or training)-perfect shorts. I think I needed to be cut off by the end of the night or something.

Oh-and I’m also obsessively checking the NYCM entrant database to see if the bib numbers have been posted yet.

Damn, I expect to be quite a character during the next 3 weeks. Be afraid. Be very afraid.

8 thoughts on “pre-taper madness

  1. For a list of all the things you’ll probably experience during the taper blues, please see my blog ;-)I *hate* tapering… But the payoff is H.U.G.E.Have fun…

  2. And then in about 9 days…OBSESSED WITH THE WEATHER WEBSITES!! Fun… :)-Andrea

  3. Add to the list: obsessed with every ache, creak and groan your body makes.

  4. haha πŸ™‚ I was going to make that weather website comment, but someone beat me to it!

  5. Obsession, Obsession – Real Marathon Madness is sweeping the New York Flyers..Having passed on my Fall Marathon, it’s only 24 weeks to go to my Spring Race, so while you taper, I start a re-rack up and pre-20 week programme. Us runners get obsessed throughout the cycle – I’d rather be at your stage right now, the hard work is done, relax and enjoy the next three weeks…….

  6. dude, you have a job!! buy stuff!! in 2.75 years that is SO my plan…taper well πŸ™‚

  7. guys…why are you encouraging me? :-pAndrea/runner26-oh but of course. the question is which website-weather.com, AccuWeather, or WUnderground? Or all 3? πŸ™‚

  8. haha – you brought this taper discussion to the forefront. And if we all dealt with it, you are too (LOL)!I checked weather.com and accuweather.com (it goes 15 days out:p).

Leave a Reply

