catch my breath

crazy week!

Tuesday I had a nice lunch out with my group at work at a cute little Italian place in the Village…though I think some of us enjoyed more the drink than the food :-p And I got cupcakes too!!

And as planned, I did escape work at 5:30 (but barely made it to speedwork on time, thanks to delays on the 6 train!) Our workout was 10 laps of the dog track…

Repeat
#
Time
Pace
Repeat
#

Time

Pace
1 1:23 6:35 6 1:26 6:49
2 1:23 6:35 7 1:28 6:59
3 1:26 6:49 8 1:28 6:59
4 1:25 6:44 9 1:28 6:59
5 1:26 6:49 10 1:27 6:54

All sub-7 considering I was still feeling that giant (10 oz) appletini I had at lunch? Wonder what I could have done had I not been drinking that day 🙂 But it was good to see everyone, I hadn’t made it out to speedwork at night in a month and a half! I know I sound lame, but that was it for the night…I was beat and there was still running and work to be done the next day, and the next…

But no fears, I do plan to celebrate my birthday in style, and that will be tomorrow night. Better to live it up on a non-“school night,” right?

Oh, and in deja vu from last year, MS sent me flowers again for my b-day. This year, however, 1-800-flowers did not screw up, and he used a pseudonym on the card…as last year the receptionist called him up to ask why he was sending “I love you” flowers (1-800-flowers’ screwup) to me when he’s married. So the fake name was in case said receptionist was reading again.

And I still need to pick out my big present…a new digital camera!! I have an idea which one I want…recommended by a friend of mine. And my aunt and uncle say a “special 30th birthday present is on the way”…intriguing. And of course, I would not mind a belated birthday present on Sunday.

Final running note…I know this article has been discussed to death, and I’ve commented on other blogs, so I’ll just put what I have to say here…in a central place of sorts.

I do know that it can take a 5 hour marathoner just as much training, effort and heart as a 3 hour marathoner can. It doesn’t make someone less of a runner/athlete because they are not genetically programmed to run 6 minute miles. So therefore, I don’t agree with the author’s point of “slowpokes ruining the marathon.” And everyone has to start somewhere…and as I have posted before, one of the special things in this sport is that ever so often, you can toe the same start line with the best of the best.

However-this may sound a little harsh, what I don’t like seeing in this sport is people who really don’t “respect the distance.” Who want to just run a marathon because it’s the trendy thing to do and really don’t put the effort into training for it. Why do I think that? It’s situations like this why you see groups of people cutting a course to beat a cutoff time (as was shown at last year’s Marine Corps Marathon.) Or even worse…could lead to injury and burnout very early on…it’d be a shame for someone to really not get the full benefit of how much fun running and smart training can be. I know I know-pot.kettle.black. I thought I was doing things right-when I had the marathon on the mind as a goal-I made that a goal for a year or 2 down the line. I started off with shorter distances, before moving up to a half, and wanted to get a couple of halfs under my belt before tackling a full marathon. (And you all know how that story went…)

Then again, I can’t assume everyone is a competitive biatch like myself. And a lot of people tell me that for this marathon, my goal should be “just to finish.” But that’s just not good enough for me, what’s the point of 18 weeks of training for just a 26.2 mile long training run? Yeah, I’m sure I could “just finish” in 5 or 6 hours, but where’s the challenge? How about making the goal “having a marathon performance I can be proud of”? Sounds much better, dontcha think? Set the bar high, but not too high. Hence, the 4-hour mark dancing in my head…

But to each his/her own…(well, as long as you share the road in Central Park! 😀 )

7 thoughts on “catch my breath

  1. Regarding the marathon part of your post, I also get annoyed with those who seem to think that because marathoning has become a sort of everyman/woman’s sport, they don’t have to put a lot into it. A Chicago radio morning show had a segment on a few years ago where they invited people who were about to do their first marathon to call in and say how much they trained. Every caller said training was easy, that they hadn’t put much into it and that it was really no big whoop. I was so frustrated with the message this was sending — because as you and I and everyone else who trains hard knows, that cavalier attitude can result in injury, not to mention that it sends out an inaccurate portrayal of what the sport entails.

  2. The nice thing about running is that you tend to get out what you put in. While just finishing is a good first time goal you don’t get the rewards and personal satisfaction that come from training really hard and pushing your mind and body to the edge. For some, running a marathon is good cocktail party chatter. That’s just fine by me, but don’t get in my way on Marathon Sunday.

  3. Ugh…the article again! 😉 I have a hard time reading this cause I’m one of those 5-6 hour marathoners. I think corrals are a huge part of this! The major problem ..why us slowpokes are bugging the speed demons is because people don’t know or don’t respect the corrals. If you run a 5 hour marathon…don’t line up with the 3 hour folks…simple. Same deal for when the 7 hour marathoners get in my way…not lining up in the correct spot. Nobody would bother anybody else if this rule was respected. I do train the best I can in 18 weeks. I run all my long runs…get in my miles. My PR for the 5k is only 29:01 though…just can’t get my lungs and legs to go any faster then that…YET! First 5k was 40:24 and I thought I was going to die! So, yea we all gotta start somewhere. Just get off the couch and line up in the correct corral! 🙂

  4. I forgot to sign my post!! -Andrea 🙂

  5. i don’t understand how you can finish a distance like a marathon WITHOUT hard work and training? how the heck do you finish something like that without putting forth good, if not great effort? either these people are cheating (the ones that cut the course) or are lying about how hard their training was. it’s hard for me to believe that a marathon could be easy for any mere mortal, especially those who “just want to finish”i don’t know of anyone, runner or not, who thinks a marathon is no big deal. and everyone has a set of different priorities in their lives and i’m not one to judge whether the marathon someone is training for ranks 1st or 91st amonr their list of responsibilities. if someone wants to take it easy and run/walk a marathon in 6 hours, so be it. i’ll struggle with my 5 hour run. it’s just insane to me to chastise people about what their goals SHOULD be or how importantly someone should be taking something. it’s all a set of very personal circumstances and choices, i think.

  6. I felt compelled to finally comment on your blog that I’ve been following for a few weeks now. Perhaps my story is a little long, but this week it hit me and I had to share.My younger sister and I have been training “together” (she’s in MA and I’m in MO) for our first marathon since this past April. (Hartford Oct 14 here we come!!:p)She’s turning 30 next March and recruited my help (among other now dropped out people) to help her become more fit before then. My sister, has never exercised since HS b/c we don’t have weight concerns. On the other hand, I’ve been running 6-10 m/wk as exercise for years, but from that to a marathon is a long way. I wasn’t entirely sure we would be able to pull it off but here we are ready (?) to roll… I was as perplexed as you were when I read the “slowpokes” article AND heard about the comments from the “1st timers” on the radio. They were either completely delusional or straight up lying.My point is that preparing for a marathon is NOT “easy”. The difficulty of it doesn’t lie in the training or finishing. It’s the time and sacrifices that you make WHILE training TO finish. The realization of what you can accomplish and the thought you end up finding inside you that ultimately gives you the energy, motivation and happiness to do your best, however fast/slow that “best” might be.With that said, I completely agree with your view of a “decent” time. I have been pushing myself at every run b/c I wanted a goal pace of 10 m/m. My sister on the other hand is training for “completion” with no other goal. Even so, to imply that we don’t “deserve” to compete b/c we can’t run 5-6 m/m is entirely ludicrous. I had shin splints at one point in June b/c I was pushing it too fast/too soon. The marathon brings out something from everyone depending on your PERSONAL reasons for being there to begin with. Now that my sister and I (who btw started this by walking at 30 m/m) finished 5/10/half and 30K races these comments really hit home. I’m very proud of her (and myself) for what we have accomplished in the past 6 mths and it was this thought that came up during my 20miles last weekend(3.52 hrs of alone time).I reevaluted my own reasons to do this and realized that “MY” PR was not why I was there that day. My reason had finished her 20 mils the day before interrupting a family trip. In any case, since my “bright moment” I’ve decided to really BE “together” for this, so now there will be two of us “ruining” fast runners day and loving every min of it, however long that is :)Naty St Louis, MO

  7. That was such a strange, insulting article. I was going to write about it on my blog, but everyone else did already.Sherman is right that the running boom has meant that all the big-city marathons have gotten crowded and unwieldy … but there’s also dozens and dozens of smaller marathons that have sprouted up. He can certainly find one with just a few hundred people in it if he wants.Maybe it would be healthier if the of the back-of-the-pack runners did fewer miles at a faster pace, sure. But I think people are attracted to the challenge of the marathon … a 10K or whatever just doesn’t have the same mystique.

Leave a Reply

