i still remember

sometimes lyrics can say things that you just can’t.

that being said, this song was in heavy rotation on the radio in the weeks following 9/11…

(man…i still can’t believe it’s been 5 years…)

Say good-bye to not knowing when
The truth in my whole life began
Say good-bye to not knowing how to cry
You taught me that

And I’ll remember the strength that you gave me
Now that I’m standing on my own
I’ll remember the way that you saved me
I’ll remember

Inside I was a child
That could not mend a broken wing
Outside I looked for a way
To teach my heart to sing

And I’ll remember the love that you gave me
Now that I’m standing on my own
I’ll remember the way that you changed me
I’ll remember

I learned to let go of the illusion that we can possess
I learned to let go, I travel in stillness
And I’ll remember happiness
I’ll remember (I’ll remember)

And I’ll remember the love that you gave me
Now that I’m standing on my own
I’ll remember the way that you changed me
I’ll remember

(I’ll remember)

No I’ve never been afraid to cry
Now I finally have a reason why
I’ll remember (I’ll remember)

No I’ve never been afraid to cry
And I finally have a reason why
I’ll remember (I’ll remember)


now playing: “i’ll remember” ~ madonna

6 thoughts on “i still remember

  1. Who could forget – Thoughts and prayers for all are foremost today.

  2. Remembering is what we all do today.

  3. In some ways if feels like a long time ago. In other ways it feels so recent. My subway train stopped unexpectedly this morning between stations and my heart sank. Thank God it was just a mechanical problem with the doors on the train ahead! My thoughts and prayers are with the victims & the heroes of that day.

  4. on my run last nite, i was on the north side of the rez…and from there I was able to see the “towers of light.”Visually, beautiful…and at the same time, so damn sad.

  5. I was running, too, and saw that awesome sight from the north side of the reservoir. As someone who didn’t live here five years ago, I felt sort of like an intruder yesterday. It’s evident that the pain is still really acute for those who were here, and while 9/11 happened to all of us, there’s no comparison to what New Yorkers went through that day.As I watched some of the memorial service that took place at the WTC site, two things struck me. First, the cultural diversity of the victims, which just shows you why New York is such a great city — it attracts people from all over who want to live the American dream. And the other thing was the number of people reading off the names who’d lost more than one person that day. As you said, so damned sad.

  6. i just read this. nice. i agree with thomas we all remember. and i love that song of madonna.

Leave a Reply

