us open recrap

us open

pretty nice, huh? the view of the unisphere, and some of the smaller courts, from arthur ashe stadium.

well, as I mentioned a couple months ago, i snatched up U.S. Open tix for my brother and I for yesterday’s day session. And thankfully the weather gods decided to cut us a break for this one!!

So I rode on the painfully slow 7 train out to Queens and got there a little after 11-but had to stand on a very long bag-check line before getting in (worth it in the name of security, I guess…) My brother had printed out the schedule for the day and came up with a game plan. Little heavy on the women’s matches, but we got to see one very good men’s match.

First off was Rafael Nadal vs. Luis Horna. This was probably the best match we saw yesterday. Nadal looked great in the first set, we thought this was gonna be a straight-setter-but Horna took the second set. Nadal wound up winning in 4 sets-a very exciting match, some great tennis being played, just very fun to watch. (And Nadal was rocking the capri pants…tee hee)

We saw part of the first set of Daniela Hantuchova vs. Serena Williams-my brother is not a fan of the Williams sisters at all (and I was not a fan of Serena’s outfit…ugh, her stylist should be fired or something.) Hantuchova started off strong, as Serena didn’t seem to have the fire she used to have…but she came back late in the first set. (and wound up winning the match.) We had to leave as there was a more important match to see in Louis Armstrong Stadium 🙂

We walked over to Louis Armstrong Stadium, waited on a long line and got seated just as Maria Sharapova was leading Emilie Loit, 4-0. This was a very lopsided match if I say so myself…poor Loit did not stand a chance. Though I think everyone cheered when she stole one 1 game in the second set 🙂 Anyway, after 52 minutes, Sharapova was victorious and my brother had new picture wallpaper for his cell phone 🙂

We stayed to see Amelie Mauresmo play Meghann Shaughnessy. Even though this was not as lopsided as the previous match, this was very lackluster. Mauresmo…didn’t seem to have the spark of a #1 player (as my brother said “she’s overrated.”)

So all in all, was a lot of fun-I think we may make this an annual thing. Something I wish I had done a long time ago…back in the day, I would have loved to have seen Jim Courier and Stefan Edberg play live!!

(some pictures taken from my camera-phone are here…we both forgot our digital cameras!)

One thought on “us open recrap

  1. funny – when i go to the us open, i also stack my game plan with mostly womens matches – it’s so much fun there and i definetely make it an annual thing

Leave a Reply

