and so it begins

Well today marked the official kickoff of training for the NYC Marathon. 1 day down, 124 days to go!!

Unlike last year, where I used the Basic Marathoner schedule from the NYC Marathon website and got burned out (in addition to the injury) following it, I took one of our assistant coaches up on his offer to help me with mapping out a game plan-which would take a lot of variables into consideration (e.g., current mileage, injury history, running history, goals.) We came up with a schedule which has me starting at a 28 mpw base and building up to 40 mpw. And unlike last year, where I think I felt a little overwhelmed by looking at the schedule (even though I already had the 25 mpw base going in)…this time I looked at it and said “I can definitely do this.”

But I do have to allow some flexibility in there…as I am already messing with the week 1 schedule šŸ™‚ (sometimes life gets in the way…) This is what was planned:

M-optional XT (most likely a spinning class)
T-speedwork (approx. 4 miles)
W-3 miles
Th-6 miles
F-off
Sat-5 miles
Sun-10 miles

Well I anticipated that a run on Wednesday most likely won’t be happening…as it’s the first day back at work after a long weekend, I anticipate another night at the office til 8pm. So I decided I will make Wednesday an off day, will probably cross-train on Friday before work, and today did 3.3 miles-2 loops of the 1.66 mile bridle path. Was hot as hell-mid 80s-but hasn’t felt as bad as it has before…maybe I actually am acclimating. Or maybe the shade on the bridle path helped šŸ™‚ But man, oh man…can I tell you how good it feels to be going into this training with no foot pain?? I’m actually feeling very excited about this marathon training, unlike last year, where my heart was just not into it, between my foot injury and just plain burnout.

So, I was listening to this song during my run today…it’s the song that is played during the opening credits of The Devil Wears Prada (this song sadly does not make it onto the soundtrack though.) Great song, I found myself getting into the chorus lyrics…though the song isn’t exactly talking about a marathon runner…I felt the chorus of the song was kinda talking to me šŸ™‚

Her face is a map of the world
Is a map of the world
You can see she’s a beautiful girl
She’s a beautiful girl
And everything around her is a silver pool of light
The people who surround her feel the benefit of it
It makes you calm
She holds you captivated in her palm

Suddenly I see (suddenly I see)
This is what I wanna be
Suddenly I see (suddenly I see)
Why the hell it means so much to me
Suddenly I see (suddenly I see)
This is what I wanna be
Suddenly I see (suddenly I see)
Why the hell it means so much to me

I feel like walking the world
Like walking the world
You can hear she’s a beautiful girl
She’s a beautiful girl
She fills up every corner like she’s born in black and white
Makes you feel warmer when you’re trying to remember
What you heard
She likes to leave you hanging on a wire

Suddenly I see (suddenly I see)
This is what I wanna be
Suddenly I see (suddenly I see)
Why the hell it means so much to me
Suddenly I see (suddenly I see)
This is what I wanna be
Suddenly I see (suddenly I see)
Why the hell it means so much to me

And she’s taller than most
And she’s looking at me
I can see her eyes looking from a page in a magazine
Oh she makes me feel like I could be a tower
A big strong tower
She got the power to be
The power to give
The power to see

Suddenly I see (suddenly I see)
This is what I wanna be
Suddenly I see (suddenly I see)
Why the hell it means so much to me
Suddenly I see (suddenly I see)
This is what I wanna be
Suddenly I see (suddenly I see)
Why the hell it means so much to me

now playing: “suddenly i see” ~ kt tunstall

9 thoughts on “and so it begins

  1. I LOOOOOOVE this song. (and, all of KT’s music). I too love jamming to it while on a run. great choice!

  2. Good Luck with the marathon training. It might seem like a long slog, but the weeks will just fly by as you progress towards the big day.

  3. Good choice in music. But you already knew that. šŸ™‚

  4. mouse and jay t-i actually wasn’t familiar with KT before hearing this song….but it’s pretty damn good :)thomas-thanks!! and of course it helps to have this blog…to sorta keep myself honest šŸ™‚

  5. .this time I looked at it and said “I can definitely do this.”That’s exactly how I felt when the nyrrtrainer thing spit out my current program. It was like *ding* THAT’S my schedule! challening, but no prob.Good luck on the next 18 weeks. And god help us all if this heat continues to rise.

  6. Where did you have a problem with the old training schedule? I am preparing my first schedule and going off a similar template. It would be nice to know what is lurking around the corner.

  7. don’t go by my experience regarding that training program-i know it worked fine for others, but i was literally a walking distaster before the program even started and probably should have done a lesser schedule.

  8. I think i am going to copy your training schedule – im such a biter!

  9. dude, i’m probably only running half your mileage :-p

Leave a Reply

