antisocializing

ah yes, another Friday nite, end of a long week. i had an invite to grab a drink at Brass Monkey with the co-workers but I turned it down. With the Mini 10K tomorrow morning, I just wasn’t really in the mood to drink. Not trusting myself around my coworkers, I had a feeling if I only went with the intention to have “only one drink” it would easily turn into more…

so i’m content tonite to sip water, eat some pasta, and watch Bend It Like Beckham (thank the World Cup for that inspiration.) never hurts to have an low-key night, especially knowing the rest of this weekend is gonna be quite hectic…no rest for the weary. in addition to the Mini, I am also doing a short leg of the Need for Speed relay on Sunday-though I warned all that I will be doing it at recovery pace, as the Mini takes priority. (actually, considering most of our team is running the Mini as well…I’m sure I won’t be the only one taking it easy.) We got a crazy early wake-up call for Sunday…looks like I’m gonna have to have b-day drinks for my friend on the early side Saturday nite…

but anyway, getting off-topic. this wasn’t the first time I’ve refused a drinks invite from the co-workers for running reasons-I did so the night before the Queens Half, and no one could understand why. Even tonite, I didn’t state the reasons why I didn’t feel like drinking…I just said stuff like “i just can’t” or “i’m on the wagon for the night” and left it at that. yes, i know there are some of you who can tip back a few and still run a PR the next morning. I really envy and admire you guys. I wish that could be me. I do find that drinking too much does negatively affect my running the night before races, therefore I must exercise some restraint the nights before races that I’d actually like to do well in. (Sunday will be an exception, as I said, I’m not racing it.)

but this is another one of those situations where those outside the running world don’t seem to understand. sometimes makes me wonder if being an athlete is truly an acceptable lifestyle here in NYC.

I apologize for this post and for the tone, but it’s something that’s been on my mind and I just wanted to get it off my chest. there, it’s over.

Good luck to all those ladies running the Mini tomorrow morning…and hope to see you guys out cheering πŸ™‚

7 thoughts on “antisocializing

  1. When I used to live in NJ, I was inevitably always the one who, while out with friends in the city, would head back home early. My friends always thought it was a downside to living in Jersey, when it was actually just that I had an early race or run the next day. They just never bought that argument, and would rather blame geography as opposed to being passionate for a sport.Now that I’ve lived in Manhattan for awhile, they finally seem to understand what a role running plays in my life. It really takes people some time to get it, I guess.

  2. with the co-workers, it’s been 2 years…how much longer does it take for them to get it.oh man, you do bring up memories of living in NJ for me and always being the one heading home early-but back then for me, it wasn’t due to running, it was being “geographically challenged” (last train from hoboken departing at 10:40 was a bit of a buzzkill at times!)oh, and since you have the luxury of living in the city now and not having much of a commute, i best see you out cheering tomorrow :-p(though i do understand if you’re not.)

  3. Don’t be blue Flygirl! Finding the balance between running and socializing is always a challenge. Before I started running I didn’t get it either! It seems easy to say “if they don’t get it, lose them,” but you’re the one who feels left out when you do that. My strategy is to try to suck my non-running friends into supporting me by showing them how fun/social the races are. Invite your friends to watch a race. Bribe them with a fun apres run brunch plan. Two started running after that and the others have become much more supportive. There are still times when running conflicts with what they’d like me to do, but generally it works.

  4. “but this is another one of those situations where those outside the running world don’t seem to understand. sometimes makes me wonder if being an athlete is truly an acceptable lifestyle here in NYC.”I dealt with the same dilemma. Initially all friends and family felt I was being a bit obssessive with running. However after coming to one of my runs, they realized how much i love the sport and the dedication it involves! Eventually they accepted the fact that I cant always “hang” with them till 4am and getting home pissed-arse drunk by 6 and 24 hour diners by 9!Also and as for Need For Speed Relay, I’m on the First Leg – hopefully ill see your team aroundIts….about 4 am….good luck in a few hours!

  5. I can relate exactly to what you’re saying…it’s so tough in the college setting where I am because my buddies are always going to the bar or my roomates are having a party at our place, and sometimes it’s like they don’t understand why I’m not drinking or going to bed early…or at least earlier than they are. And it frustrates me too when they think I don’t want to socialize with them.I agree with Snowflake though, I got my roomates to watch one of my races and two of them actually decided to try a 5K with me later this summer. And now it seems like they understand more of where I’m coming from.

  6. By the way…I’m a fairly new running blogger, so I thought I’d say hi πŸ™‚

  7. my family does sorta get it, i’ve done a coupla races in NJ by the parentals’ and a turkey trot on LI, so they sorta know my pre-race behaviors :)as for the co-workers, we’re talking about the same people you gotta pull teeth to have them do the corporate challenge. i think i’m also in a phase right now where i sorta want to have my own life outside of work, my own personal goals, etc…morrissey-great meeting you today!! was a fun relay.justin-thanks for stopping by and welcome to the wonderful world of blogging πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

