eight on tap

nope-not beers. (though that would be pretty nice too.)

nope, eight miles. as in what my “long run” is up to. knocked that off on saturday with 2 middle 4 loops (about 26 miles for the week.) i’d like to get another 8 or 9 in this weekend. coincidentally, the Manhattan half is on Saturday, and I’m actually registered for that one-I registered for all the January/February races before my annual benefactor NYRR membership was up (decided to go back to the regular membership this year.)

So considering the Flyers’ awards gala is Saturday nite, I have a feeling I’ll be pretty useless on Sunday and I need to get that “long” run in on Saturday. I’m so tempted to use 8 or 9 miles of the race for it-thanks to the snazzy GMaps pedometer, I estimated that mile 8 will be right by the 102nd street transverse (useful if i want to cheer teammates on by the finish line) and mile 9 will be in the west 80s (convenient if i just wanted to head on home and nap.) the thing is, do i trust myself to not be competitive. decisions, decisions. maybe if i just wear a bib and no chip? after all, i’ll be DNFing it anyway…

of course, there’s the issue of me even waking up in time…which has not happened on weekends as of late 🙂

4 thoughts on “eight on tap

  1. I like the pedometer at mapmyrun.com better, it is similar but lets you zoom to addresses.

  2. And thanks to you and Derek I will be attending on Sat….You guys are the best 🙂

  3. derek-that’s pretty cool too! thx for the link!!melissa-YAY!!!! i’m psyched for saturday 🙂

  4. hey, come on out and run with us, it’ll be great! And after mile eight or nine, you could walk the rest of the way or something. Hell you could come keep me company, I’m sure I’ll be doing a LOT of walking tomorrow.

Leave a Reply

