living on a prayer

hey, i’m a jersey girl at heart. and as a jersey girl, there are some songs you grow up with…

“Tommy used to work on the docks
Union’s been on strike
He’s down on his luck…it’s tough, so tough”
-“Living On A Prayer” ~ Bon Jovi

I loved that song growing up, and now too…but it’s funny, I heard that song tonite, and a certain line…well, it just has some relevance to what’s been going on now, hasn’t it?

Anyway, I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t relieved that the transit strike is over. I can’t believe I’m saying this…but I was actually sick of working from home! I felt like I had such cabin fever…I need my commute!! (But I don’t need it to be an hour walk either. and yes, i know i coulda shoulda woulda ran to work, but don’t forget, i’m supposed to be building up gradually. and i’m not sure 7 miles a day, 5 days a week, was something the doctor would have ordered.) Plus all things considered, I knew I didn’t have it that bad and I felt for those who did have it worse due to the strike. So I never thought I’d be saying this, but I’m glad to be going into the office on Tuesday (the next 2 days are office holidays.)

So tonite, I met up with MF and a few of her friends at Time Out on the west side…toasting the end of the strike in addition to other things. Was a lot of fun…played a few round of beer-pong…while I couldn’t seem to hit any shots in the beginning, the last round I played, I was en fuego 🙂 Plus, Malibu Rum seemed to be a sponsor tonite…as a result, we got a coupla free rounds of Malibu Bay Breezes…hey, can’t say no to free alcohol, right? All in all, a fun nite. 🙂

4 thoughts on “living on a prayer

  1. I totally know what you mean by working from home, I’ve been trying to get work done at my parents’ place in Cincinnati, and it’s been tougher than usual. I really miss my office where I have everything setup just right, and where my colleagues are always available for advice.Besides, I hate working at home. Home is a sanctified place! Just like there is no sex in the champagne room, there should be no work at home.

  2. love that song too. (doesn’t everybody our age?) i actually liked “prayer 94” a lot, which is a slowed down version on Crossroads, an early “greatest hits” album.

  3. That Time Out place is dangerous. I’ve been there a few times where I start to have vivid flashbacks to basement frat parties….(shudder)

  4. jbl-i know what you mean! i don’t have a fax here or a decent printer, which is something I really rely on at the office…and if the email server goes down I’m in trouble. Working at home is good once in awhile, but I couldn’t see myself doing it every day. I missed the office culture. I missed interacting with others on the way to the office!! I missed having “missed connections” on the subway :-)anyway, hope you’re enjoying your vacay. 2 weeks to go ;-)Chelle-I so had flashbacks to my college days the other nite…I felt like a student who had just finished finals or something 😀 hell, i even got carded (we all did…i guess they were trying to keep out the college kidz.) not a regular haunt of mine at all, but we all just wanted something within walking distance that nite.

Leave a Reply

