gellin’ like a felon

got gel?  me working at mile 18 of the nyc marathontoday was a very sticky day. and for once not talking about the weather 🙂

so today I worked the PowerGel zone at mile 18 with a bunch of other Flyers for the 2nd year in a row. and again, was a good time. got there around 10:30 and was assigned to the vanilla station-but I refused to wear the PowerGel t-shirt. first, I told people to look for me in the flyer singlet. second, from what I remembered last year, the colored t-shirts didn’t help anyone in aiding them to take the right flavors. as the picture shows, i compromised though. 🙂 so the music is playing, i’m dancing around a little while waiting for runners to arrive.

around 11:15 the female elites run by-large pack, looked like it was anyone’s race there. ditto for the male elites when they passed by…and then came the masses. i cheered for the flyers. i cheered for the other local teams. i cheered for all the runners. i looked for any other blogmates (saw Derek, did not see Danny) Was totally mobbed by runners taking gel-since vanilla was the first station, everyone seemed to grab that one first. Tried as hard as I could to limit runners to one gel (since they ran out last year)…not everyone did-but i guess after running 18 miles, you’re beyond reason. we finally ran out of vanilla so i moved on to other flavors. only to have chocolate gel get squirted over me and another teammate (good thing I was wearing my crap shoes!) finally around 2:30 i left…was pretty tired being on my feet for so long-and I wasn’t even running!

now it’s time to tip a few back with the flyers in a little bit-yay!!

congrats to everyone who finished-especially during the tough conditions (preliminary reports show a lot of people were off-pace) you all totally rock. and i hope to be out there next year with you 🙂

2 thoughts on “gellin’ like a felon

  1. HiI was wondering if you knew how I might be able to track down a runner. He passed out at mile 22 and we pulled him off the course and called the EMTs. I wrote down his bib number and checked it against the website, then googled the name I found. But things don’t jibe, because the website says the number was cancelled and all of the emails come back failed.http://baldwinchris1.blogspot.com/2005/11/m.htmlThat's the link back to the story. Any ideas?

  2. Nice blog. Advice from another workaholic and busyaholic: Keep running!

Leave a Reply

