it just seemed appropriate…

I’ve been inspired to keep one of these from all I’ve seen/read on the web and now seems like as good time as any…so here goes.

So who am I? A typical NYC chica. Or not. I work a little. Or a lot. I run a little. Or a lot. I socialize a little. Or a lot. I date a little. Or a lot. (actually that last one ain’t true these days, LOL!!)

Well here I am. 4 days from entering my last year as an open runner. (aka 20-something runner-the Flyers refer to 30s at “sub-masters.”) 28 has sure been a roller coaster year, and one that I’m actually glad to leave behind. It’s been a very rocky last few months, work-wise, running-wise, life-wise, all leading to me having to eventually make a decision that I wish I didn’t have to make (to marathon or not to marathon?) Here’s to not making the same mistakes in my 29th year.

One thing I’m sure you will notice…I love song lyrics. I’m obsessed. I’ll just post em when I’m feeling them. This song I think I’m feeling right now. Great song.

I know I make mistakes
I will have to live and learn
Sometimes you play with fire
And sometimes you get burned

I have my dream to live
Following that star
It doesn’t matter how long it takes
It doesn’t matter how far

No time for make believing
And it’s too late to turn back now, yeah-yeah-yeah

I’ve been dreaming about it
I can’t live without it
I’ve got to find my own way
I’m not changing my mind now
Or looking behind now
This is my independence day
My independence day

I know it’ll take some time
But I won’t give up the fight
Sometimes you win, sometime you lose
But that’s alright, oh yeah

I’ve got to spread my wings
And learn how to fly
Cos this feeling drives me on
It’s something I cannot deny

No time to make excuses
Cos it’s too late to turn back now, yeah-yeah-yeah

I’ve been dreaming about it
I can’t live without it
I’ve got to find my own way
I’m not changing my mind now
Or looking behind now
This is my independence day
My independence day

No matter what comes my way
I’m gonna live for today, yeah-yeah
This is my, this is my independence day
(Gonna live for today)

I’ve been dreaming about it
I can’t live without it
I’ve got to find my own way
I’m not changing my mind now
Or looking behind now
This is my independence

I’ve been dreaming about it
I can’t live without it
I’ve got to find my own way
I’m not changing my mind now
Or looking behind now
This is my independence day
My independence day (independence day)
Day, my independence day (independence day)

Wishing on that same bright star
I shouldn’t wish my life away, wish my life away (independence day)
They say it’s a small small world
They say it’s a small small small small world (independence day)
(Independence day)

~”Independence Day”-Melanie C (from the “Bend It Like Beckham” soundtrack)

2 thoughts on “it just seemed appropriate…

  1. Oops, my previous comment got deleted b/c I was trying to include a link. I think you should post all your trianing details and race times, and let the other bloggers vote on whether you run NYC. My vote is YES! Live now, live slow. But then again I have been knowno to make some impulsive decisions myself….

  2. i was gonna get to that in another post…break it in slowly, kinda like a new pair of running shoes šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

