on a night like this

the flyer banner, hanging high and proud, at nyrr's club nightquoted from one of my teammates, talking about one of the NYRR races that included the pros:
“I gotta say, since I will likely never match wits with Tiger Woods at Augusta National, scramble for a first down in Giants Stadium, or knock a curve ball over the center field wall in The House that Ruth Built, it was pretty neat competing on the same playing field as some of the world’s top athletes.”

That’s part of what makes this running community so special-if for just one day or one night, to be brushing elbows with the best of them…whether they are local celebrities, or national running heroes…or the best of the rest…I really felt last night’s Club Night was a very special atmosphere. Was nice to put aside any team colors and stuff like that and just have a really great night.

One of my first tasks this year as Flyer Member-at-Large was to get a coupla tables reserved and get those seats filled. Well fill them we did-26 people at our 2 tables. And boy did we have spirit too-we made sure we were heard when there was something Flyer-related to cheer about!! :) Our men’s open team and women’s veterans teams won awards-and one of our veteran women was nominated for an award in her age group but sadly did not win…but I have a feeling next year may be her year, as she has dominated her age group so far in ’06. but still, to just for her to have been nominated…it’s huge.

After the awards, we all danced…and danced…and danced…the music was great (though it’s funny, at first we were wondering if it was the same DJ as the one at the Flyers awards gala, seemed like the same songs were played! good stuff though), and the rest of the park showed that they can party as well as the Flyers do :) All in all, another great evening.

I’ll definitely be back next year!!

now playing: “on a night like this” ~ kylie minogue

10 thoughts on “on a night like this

  1. Excellent recap and totally agree, it was an awesome night!You did a super job organizing and working so hard to get the seats filled. All I can say is hire that DJ for our party and “limbo” baby!!

  2. oh man…the limbo…i had a feeling the shoes were gonna do me in. but hey, a girl’s gotta suffer for fashion…good seeing you last nite too!! :)

  3. I take it you’re not talking about the new Mizunos.

  4. Hey, were you wearing a black dress last night? I think I got a good photo of you, if that was you. I looked right at you (I think!) and should have said something, but then wasn’t positive so I didn’t. I guess I was a little out of it at that point…those little blue tequila thingies were lethal!

  5. Kevin-nope, not the Mizunos…I actually made the executive decision to take them back!! The next part in the continuing shoe saga will be featured…maybe tomorrow or Monday. The shoes were a pair of black killer 2 3/4″ heels which were totally uncomfortable, but looked great.Chelle-yep I was wearing a black dress last nite…I would have looked a lot like this picture-same dress, but my hair’s a little longer now :)I stayed away from the blue drinks-wasn’t sure with my track record, I could trust them so I stuck with the white wine, which was pretty good, except there seemed to not be enough of it :) Congrats to your team on all your awards!!

  6. I wish I could’ve been there. :(

  7. Here you go. I believe this was sometime during the congo line portion of the evening’s festivities.

  8. jbl-i wish you had been there too! but there’s always next year…and hopefully then there will be another award for you guys to accept :)Chelle-thanks so much for the pic-definitely was a good one! :)

  9. I even heard you might have had some fun after the party… ;)

  10. i won’t deny that… ;)

Leave a Reply

